Saturday, July 8, 2017 10:13pm by  
Comments (0)

, , , , , , , , ,

Ed Sheeran extends UK tour after tickets sell out in minutes

Ed Sheeran has added extra dates to his UK tour after tickets sold out within minutes.

The ‘Castle on the Hill’ hitmaker will embark on an extra eight dates around the UK in 2018 after thousands of fans were left disappointed today (July 8) when all available tickets were snapped up.

Posting a picture of the new dates on Instagram, which include two extra dates at London’s Wembley Stadium, Manchester’s Etihad Stadium, Cardiff’s Principality Stadium, and an extra show each at Hampden Park in Glasgow and St James’ Park in Newcastle, Sheeran wrote:

“UK stadium tour sold out this morning so we are adding more dates due to overwhelming demand, keep ya posted x (sic)”

Ticket buying website ticketmaster.com saw their website crash after thousands of fans flooded the site in an attempt to secure tickets, and a spokesperson for the company has labelled it as their “busiest day ever." The spokesperson said in a statement:

“Ticketmaster experienced its busiest day ever today. Ed Sheeran has been a phenomenal success, already breaking all our previous records. It is great to see so many fans getting tickets to concerts across the country; once again demonstrating our commitment to providing a first-class ticketing service, while coping with unprecedented levels of traffic.”

Sheeran's 2018 stadium tour, which kicks off in May, will also see the ‘Shape of You’ singer travel across Europe to cities such as Amsterdam, Belgium, France, Sweden, Germany and Switzerland, with the tour coming to an end in Poland.

The new dates come after the star promised the 25 original shows would not be “the end” of the tour, as he hinted there would be more dates in the pipeline. He tweeted:

"That's not the end of the stadium tour, watch this space x (sic)”

The ‘Galway Girl’ musician is also determined to crack down on people re-selling tickets for profit, and so any that are resold will not be valid unless sold through official partner Twickets, which only allows fan to fan sales at face value plus booking fee only. On all the stadium dates, fans will be required to bring your tickets, booking confirmation and credit card, plus a valid form of ID or they will not be granted entry to the show.

See Sheeran’s full 2018 UK live schedule below. The new shows are highlighted with asterisks.

  • Wednesday 9 May – Belfast Boucher Playing Fields SOLD OUT
  • Thursday 24 May – Manchester Etihad Stadium SOLD OUT
  • Friday 25 May – Manchester Etihad Stadium SOLD OUT
  • Saturday 26 May – Manchester Etihad Stadium SOLD OUT
  • Sunday 27 May – Manchester Etihad Stadium *NEW DATE*
  • Friday 1 June – Glasgow Hampden Park SOLD OUT
  • Saturday 2 June – Glasgow Hampden Park SOLD OUT
  • Sunday 3 June – Glasgow Hampden Park *NEW DATE*
  • Friday 8 June – Newcastle St James’ Park SOLD OUT
  • Saturday 9 June – Newcastle St James’ Park SOLD OUT
  • Sunday 10 June – Newcastle St James’ Park *NEW DATE*
  • Thursday 14 June –  London Wembley Stadium SOLD OUT
  • Friday 15 June – London Wembley Stadium SOLD OUT
  • Saturday 16 June – London Wembley Stadium SOLD OUT
  • Sunday 17 June – London Wembley Stadium SOLD OUT
  • Thursday 21 June – Cardiff Principality Stadium *NEW DATE*
  • Friday 22 June – Cardiff Principality Stadium SOLD OUT
  • Saturday 23 June – Cardiff Principality Stadium SOLD OUT
  • Sunday 24 June – Cardiff Principality Stadium SOLD OUT

Check availability for tickets here

Follow us: @Pressparty on Twitter Pressparty on Facebook.

  Shortlink to this content: http://bit.ly/2uWXQoC