Wednesday, April 19, 2017 10:21am by  

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Surprise Prince EP to be released this week for anniversary of star's death

A surprise new Prince EP is set to be released this Friday on April 21.

The EP is named 'Deliverance,and will mark the one-year anniversary of the legendary icon's tragic death.

It is available to pre-order through digital retailers, and its title track is currently available to stream on Apple Music. The six-song EP features “new, undiscovered studio recordings” which the star cut between 2006 - 2008. 

It also features a medley called ‘Man Opera’, which contains the songs ‘I Am’, ‘Touch Me’, ‘Sunrise Sunset’ and ‘No One Else’. In it, Prince sings: "You can ease the pain of a few but until God intervenes/Ain't nothing, nothing man can do".

The new EP was co-produced and co-written by one of Prince's frequent collaborators, Ian Boxill, who mixed and completed the tracks after the superstar's death last year. Boxill said in a statement:

“I believe ‘Deliverance’ is a timely release with everything going on in the world today, and in light of the one-year anniversary of his passing. I hope when people hear Prince singing these songs, it will bring comfort to many.

“Prince once told me that he would go to bed every night thinking of ways to bypass major labels and get his music directly to the public. When considering how to release this important work, we decided to go independent because that’s what Prince would have wanted.”

Aptly for an artist who spent such a huge part of his career fighting with labels to maintain control over his art, the 'Deliverance EP' is set to be released via a Vancouver-based indie label called RMA. 

Following its digital release on April 2, ‘Deliverance’, is scheduled for a physical release on June 2.

Follow us: @Pressparty on Twitter Pressparty on Facebook.

  Shortlink to this content: