The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP), the world leader in performing rights and advocacy for music creators, celebrated some of the most successful songwriters, composers and performers in British music. Amongst the honourees were Duran DuranJess Glynne and MNEK. The 2016 ASCAP Awards London took place at One Embankment.

The prestigious Golden Note Award, one of the top acknowledgments that ASCAP bestows upon songwriters, composers and artists who have achieved extraordinary career milestones, was presented to multi-platinum pop visionaries Duran Duran in recognition of their global success and body of work. Presenting the award, ASCAP President Paul Williams acknowledged that “in addition to their brilliant songwriting, Duran Duran have continued to innovate across the board,” noting their use of new technology to revolutionise the music video and their sartorial flare when working with fashion legends.  The award was collected by Simon Le Bon, Nick Rhodes and Roger Taylor.

Two esteemed Vanguard Awards were presented to both Jess Glynne and MNEK. The award recognizes the impact of outstanding ASCAP members on musical genres that will help shape the future of music. CEO of ASCAPElizabeth Matthews, explained, "a Vanguard is at the forefront of musical innovation - dynamic and unafraid to embrace the risk and vulnerability implicit in songwriting."

Glynne also took home the award for EDM Song. Her debut solo single Hold My Hand opened at #1 on the singles chart and held the position for three consecutive weeks. It also became Glynne's first solo chart entry on the US Billboard Hot 100.

Another double award recipient was multi-talented singer and songwriter Amy Wadge. Both awards - one for Song of the Year and another for Top Digital Song - were in recognition of her massive global hit and Grammy Award-winning song Thinking Out Loud. The song is co-written and performed by long-time collaborator Ed Sheeran.

Songwriters Anthony Hannides, Michael Hannides, Levi Lennox and Joe Garrett won the Global Impact Award for Zayn Malik's PILLOWTALK. One of the most successful songs of the year, PILLOWTALK debuted at #1 in the UK, US, Ireland, Australia, Canada, Greece, Portugal and Slovakia. It also reached #1 in Hungary, New Zealand, Singapore and Sweden. Worldwide, the song enabled Malik to have not only the highest first-day and weekly streams for a debut artist but made him the first UK artist to debut at #1 on the Billboard Hot 100 with a first charted single. Additionally, the music video has been viewed over 640 million times on YouTube.

James Newman won the award for Top EDM Song. Co-written with performers Calvin Harris and John Newman, Blame entered the UK Singles Chart at #1 and became Harris's seventh UK #1 and Newman's third. John Titta, ASCAP Executive Vice President, presented the award to Newman and noted how "he's fast becoming one of the UK's most in-demand songwriters".

ASCAP Senior Director, Membership UK/ Europe Simon Greenaway served as host for the evening, assisted by Director, Membership UK/ Europe David Ryan Jordan.

Other awards presented this evening were in recognition of Hot 100 SongsEDM SongsFilm Score of the Year, Top Film MusicTop Television Series.

The full list of ASCAP Awards 2016 winners this year is as follows:

ASCAP Golden Note Award - Duran Duran

ASCAP Vanguard Award - Jess Glynne

ASCAP Vanguard Award - MNEK

ASCAP Global Impact Award - Anthony Hannides, Michael Hannides, Levi Lennox, Joe Garrett (PILLOWTALK by Zayn Malik)

ASCAP Song of the Year - Amy Wadge (Thinking Out Loud by Ed Sheeran)

ASCAP Top Digital Song - Amy Wadge (Thinking Out Loud by Ed Sheeran)

ASCAP Top EDM Song - James Newman (Blame by Calvin Harris ft. John Newman)

ASCAP Film Score of the Year - Patrick Doyle (Cinderella)

ASCAP EDM Song Award - Jess Glynne (Hold My Hand)

ASCAP Hot 100 Winning Songs

o   Thomas William Raybould (The Hills by The Weeknd)

o   Lloyd Oliver Wills, Everton Bonner (Post To Be by Omarion ft. Chris Brown & Jhene Aiko)

o   Sir Paul McCartney (FOURFIVESECONDS by Rihanna, Kanye West & Paul McCartney)

o   Joel Pott (Budapest by George Ezra)

o   Ella Henderson (Ghost by Ella Henderson)

ASCAP EDM Winning Songs

o   Chris Martin, Guy Berryman, Jonny Buckland, Will Champion (A Sky Full of Stars by Coldplay)

o   Olly Alexander, Mikey Goldsworthy, Emre Turkmen (King by Years And Years)

o   Marli Harwood (Stole The Show by Kygo ft. Parson James)

o   Philip Bentley (Secrets by Tiesto & KSHMR ft. Vassy)

ASCAP Top Film Music Awards

o   Lorne Balfe (Home (2015), Terminator Genisy)

o   Daniel Pemberton (The Man From U.N.C.L.E)

o   Martin Phipps (Woman In Gold)

o   Ben Salisbury, Geoff Barrow (Ex Machina)

ASCAP Top Television Series Awards

o   Julian Gingell, Barry Stone (American Idol (Fox))

o   Daniel McGrath, Josh Phillips (Dancing With The Stars (ABC))

o   John Lunn (Downtown Abbey (PBS))

November 11, 2016 4:51am ET by Pressparty   Comments (0)

, , , ,

  Shortlink to this content: http://bit.ly/2eYhvNB


Latest Press Releases