ASCAP London Music Awards 2022

The ASCAP London Music Awards returned to the cloud October 18, honoring the PRS for Music songwriters and composers of the most-performed ASCAP songs and biggest film and TV hits of 2021 in the US.



ASCAP, the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers, today announces the winners of the ASCAP London Music Awards 2022, which take place on @ASCAP social media, shining a light on incredible British songwriting and composing talent for their continued U.S. success this year.

Winners include collaborators Neave Applebaum & Lewis Thompson, the co-writers behind a host of Joel Corry hits, who take home three awards including Songwriter of the Year, while famed Bollywood composer Mithoon wins two awards for drill smash "Whoopty. Other music creators recognised include Lewis Capaldi, MNEK, DJ/producer David Morales and a host of composers for film and TV including Jonny Greenwood and the composers for Married at First Sight and Sing 2. The winners will be honoured on the @ASCAP Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and @ASCAPLondon Instagram during 18 and 19 October 2022 beginning at 10AM BST with the hashtag #ASCAPAwards. ASCAP will share exclusive photos and videos from the winners as part of the virtual event.

It's been a huge few years for ASCAP London Songwriter of the Year winners, collaborators Neave Applebaum & Lewis Thompson. They take home two Winning Hot Dance/Electronic Song awards for their work on smash hits by star DJ Joel Corry, who is fresh off several BRIT nominations and appearances in Love Island and Tomorrowland. The first comes alongside co-writers MNEK, Robert Harvey, Leo Kalyan and Lewis Thompson for chart-topper "Head and Heart," which wins its second ASCAP London Music Award having spent more than 10 weeks at #1 in the UK. "Bed" by Joel Corry, Raye and David Guetta earns them their second Winning Hot Dance/Electronic Song award, taking them to a haul of three in total. Applebaum and Thompson will share thanks for their wins in a short video as part of the ASCAP Awards.

Featuring a prominent sample of "Sanam Re" by Indian film composer Mithoon, "Whoopty" became a chart-topping hit for drill rapper CJ. "Whoopty" wins Mithoon two awards for Song of the Year and Top Streaming Song, demonstrating the power of creative sampling in modern songwriting.

The influence of TikTok is evident in this year's winners list, with many enjoying viral success. "Put Your Records On" by Corinne Bailey Rae gains a Winning Hot 100 award for co-writers John Beck and Steve Crisanthou, re-entering the charts after a cover version by Ritt Momney went viral on TikTok. Other Winning Hot 100 awards go to Chris Arnold, Rick Boardman, Pablo Bowman Navarro, David Martin and Geoff Morrow for "Leave Before You Love Me" (by Marshmello and the Jonas Brothers); legendurybeatz and Legendury Beatz for "Essence (Remix)" (Wizkid feat. Justin Bieber and Tems) and James 'Boy Matthews' Norton and Cleo Tighe for their work on "One Too Many" (Keith Urban and P!nk).

Last year's Songwriter of the Year, Lewis Capaldi, is back amongst the winners alongside Corey Sanders, taking home a Winning Hot Dance/Electronic Award for their work on "Lasting Lover" (by Sigala and James Arthur). Meanwhile, James 'Yami' Bell takes home the Top Hot Dance/Electronic Song award for "The Business" (by Tiësto). Other Winning Hot Dance/Electronic Song awards are picked up by Teemu Brunila for "Don't Be Shy" (Tiësto and Karol G); David Morales and Handel Tucker for "In Da Getto" (J Balvin and Skrillex); Dan Caplen and Gez O'Connell for "Paradise" (Medusa ft. Dermot Kennedy); Ross Campbell for "Friday" (Riton and Nightcrawlers feat. Mufasa and Hypeman) and Frederik 'SIBA' Castenschiold Eichen and Sakima for "You" (by Regard, Troye Sivan and Tate McRae).

ASCAP also recognises the best composers in the worlds of film and television with 11 awards. Top Box Office Film of the Year goes to Joby Talbot's work on the delightfully charming Sing 2. Other Top Box Office Film awards go to Radiohead multi-instrumentalist and accomplished film composer Jonny Greenwood for his work on Spencer and Christopher Benstead for Guy Ritchie's Wrath of Man.

Television continues to go from strength to strength, and this year the award for Top Network Series goes to Julian Gingell and Barry Stone for the classic and well-loved American Idol. Top Cable Series goes to Louise Dowd, Jason Tarver and Marc Williams for the reality TV sensation Married At First Sight; and finally, Top Streaming Series & Film awards go to composers including Natalie Holt for Loki, Marius de Vries for Coda, Arthur Sharpe for The Electrical Life of Louis Wain, Lucy Railton for False Positive and Marc Canham for I Care A Lot.

Follow #ASCAPAwards on Instagram, Facebook and Twitter @ASCAP and @ASCAPLondon Instagram to see surprise videos and photos from the ASCAP London Music Awards 2022.

A full list of ASCAP London Music Awards 2022 winners can be found at

Source ASCAP

October 18, 2022 12:00am ET by Pressparty  

  Shortlink to this content:


Latest Press Releases

We may earn a commission from products purchased via links featured on our pages