The Trial Of Christine Keeler

Bafta-winning screenwriter Amanda Coe takes a fresh lens to one of the most infamous British stories of the 20th century

BRAND NEW 29th December 9pm BBC One



Sophie Cookson, James Norton, Ellie Bamber, Ben Miles and Emilia Fox lead a stellar cast in The Trial Of Christine Keeler, written by Bafta Award-winning screenwriter and novelist Amanda Coe, series produced by Rebecca Ferguson and directed by Andrea Harkin and Leanne Welham.

The Trial Of Christine Keeler takes a fresh look at one of the most infamous British stories of the 20th century: the chain of events in the 1960s that came to be known as the Profumo Affair.

At the centre of the storm was 19 year-old Christine Keeler, a young woman whom the powerful, male-dominated establishment sought to silence and exploit, but who refused to play by their rules. This six-part drama takes us behind the headlines to tell a human story about the sexual and cultural politics of one of the most revealing and iconic stories of modern times.

Sophie Cookson plays Christine Keeler, James Norton takes on the role of Stephen Ward, with Ellie Bamber as Mandy Rice-Davies. Ben Miles plays John Profumo and Emilia Fox stars as Valerie Profumo. Nathan Stewart-Jarrett plays Johnny Edgecombe and Anthony Welsh plays Aloysius 'Lucky' Gordon.

The Trial Of Christine Keeler is an Ecosse Films and Great Meadow co-production, commissioned by Charlotte Moore and Piers Wenger for BBC One. The BBC Commissioning Editors are Lucy Richer and Ayela Butt. Executive Producers are Amanda Coe, Douglas Rae, Kate Triggs, and Robert Bernstein.

Christine Keeler - Sophie Cookson
Stephen Ward - James Norton
Mandy Rice-Davies - Ellie Bamber
Valerie Profumo - Emilia Fox
John Profumo - Ben Miles
DS John Burrows - Sam Troughton
Aloysius ‘Lucky’ Gordon - Anthony Welsh
Johnny Edgecombe - Nathan Stewart Jarrett
DI Herbert - Louis Hilyer
Martin Redmayne MP - Tim McInnerny
Michael Eddowes - Anton Lesser
Bill Astor - Michael Maloney
Bronwen Astor - Rosalind Halstead
Paul Mann - Jack Greenlees
Paula Hamilton-Marshall - Chloe Harris
Julie Huish - Amanda Drew
Alan - Sam Crane
Eugene Ivanov - Visar Vishka
Ronna - Charlene Boyd
James Burge - Peter Davidson
Griffith-Jones - Alex MacQueen
George Wigg MP - Danny Webb
Woods - Martin Hutson
Hutchinson - Paul Ritter
Colin - Neil Morrissey
Roger Hollis - Aiden McArdle
Judge Marshall - Paul Jesson
Rudolph ‘Watt’/’Truello’ Fenton - Micah Balfour
Camacchio - CJ Beckford
Peter Rachmann - Jonny Coyne
Len - Dorian Lough

Source BBC One

December 16, 2019 6:47am ET by Pressparty  

, , , ,

  Shortlink to this content:


Latest Press Releases