The 1975, Rita Ora, Twenty One Pilots and Mumford & Sons set for BBC Radio 1’s Live Lounge Month

The 1975, Rita Ora, Twenty One Pilots and Mumford & Sons among the 2018 line-up for BBC Radio 1’s Live Lounge Month

OFFICIAL PRESS RELEASE


NEWS PROVIDED BY
BBC Radio 1

The 1975, Rita Ora, Twenty One Pilots and Mumford & Sons are among some of the artists stepping into the world famous Live Lounge this November on BBC Radio 1.
Hosted by Clara Amfo in the new weekday slot of Monday to Thursday, artists will perform their own music, as well as their chosen cover tracks.

Kicking off on Thursday 1 throughout the month until Thursday 29 November, audiences can expect to hear from the biggest and newest names in the music business, with live performances from:

Twenty One Pilots
Dizzee Rascal
Marshmello and Bastille
Robyn
Hozier
Zara Larsson
Jess Glynne
Lewis Capaldi
Blossoms
Rita Ora
Jax Jones
Christine and the Queens
George Ezra
The 1975
Rudimental and Tom Walker
Ellie Goulding
Mumford and Sons (Live Lounge Symphony)

Radio 1’s Live Lounge attracts some of the biggest names across the globe and in the UK with alumni including Taylor Swift, Bruno Mars, Ed Sheeran, Sam Smith, Jay Z, The Killers, Foo Fighters and Wolf Alice.

The Live Lounge sessions will be hosted by Clara Amfo (Monday-Thursday, 10am-1pm) with performances available to watch on Radio 1’s BBC iPlayer and YouTube channels.

Clara Amfo says: “November is the time, back for another year with all of the artists our listeners stay loving! Whether returning to the Live Lounge or making their debut performance, it’s set to be another special month.”

Chris Price, Head of Music, Radio 1 & 1Xtra, says: "There's nothing like Radio 1's Live Lounge for getting closer to your favourite artist - or discovering a new one. Starting with an intimate, hometown portrait of Twenty One Pilots in the venue where it all started for them, and culminating with a symphonic interpretation of Mumford & Sons' best known and newest songs, Live Lounge Month 2018 will once again bring you established and emerging artists as you've never seen them before."

Mumford & Sons say: “We’re so stoked to be playing the Live Lounge for the fourth time - it remains one of the Great British institutions.”

Zara Larsson says: “I love doing Live Lounge it just puts you in a different space as an artist having to make someone else’s song your own. My favourite Live Lounge that I have done was covering Drake's Too Good For You. Me and my band had such a great time performing it."

Full schedule

Thursday 1 November: Twenty One Pilots
Monday 5 November: Dizzee Rascal
Tuesday 6 November: Marshmello and Bastille
Wednesday 7 November: Robyn
Thursday 8 November: Hozier
Monday 12 November: Zara Larsson
Tuesday 13 November: Jess Glynne
Wednesday 14 November: Lewis Capaldi
Thursday 15 November: Blossoms
Monday 19 November: Rita Ora
Tuesday 20 November: Jax Jones
Wednesday 21 November: Christine and the Queens
Thursday 22 November: George Ezra
Monday 26 November: The 1975
Tuesday 27 November: Rudimental and Tom Walker
Wednesday 28 November: Ellie Goulding
Thursday 29 November: Mumford and Sons (Live Lounge Symphony)

Source BBC Radio 1

October 9, 2018 7:07pm by BBC Radio 1  

, , , ,

  Shortlink to this content: http://bit.ly/2CwoeOh

Join the Party!

Latest Press Releases