LOUIS TOMLINSON, LITTLE MIX, HOLLYWOOD SUPERSTARS & YUNGBLUD TO TAKE OVER RADIO 1 ON CHRISTMAS DAY

UPDATED DEC. 19, 2019: SELENA GOMEZ JOINS LINEUP

LINK TO LISTEN IN LIVE OR REPLAY AFTERWARDS BELOW

OFFICIAL PRESS RELEASE


NEWS PROVIDED BY
BBC Radio 1

Radio 1’s Superstar Playlists will see some of the biggest names in entertainment taking over the airwaves on BBC Radio 1 this Christmas Day, including: Selena Gomez, Louis Tomlinson, Little Mix, YUNGBLUD, Emilia Clarke, John Boyega, Jodie Whittaker, Daisy Ridley and many more. List in order of radio show times below.



LITTLE MIX



AIRS: 10AM GMT / 5AM ET

Little Mix loved hosting their 2018 Christmas Day show on Radio 1 so much that they are returning to do it all over again.

This year, they’ll be putting their spin on a much-loved Christmas tradition as they host the ‘Drag Queen’s Speech’ with RuPaul’s Drag Race UK star Divina De Campo.



PADDY McGUINNESS



AIRS: 11AM GMT / 6AM ET

Top Gear presenters Paddy McGuinness, Freddie Flintoff and Chris Harris will be reliving their ‘Ultimate Driving Test’ challenge where they raced round a track whilst hooked up to electric shock machines, but this time they’ll be getting electric shocks in a Christmas game of hot potato.

Paddy McGuinness says: “I can’t think of anywhere else I would rather be on Christmas Day than in a windowless, soundproofed radio studio in London with Fred and Chris. I’ll console myself with the fact that I’ll get to spin some of my favourite Christmas tunes for Radio 1 listeners!”



FREDDIE FLINTOFF



AIRS: 11AM GMT / 6AM ET

Freddie Flintoff says: “I’ll try my best to bring some sensible conversation and classic Christmas songs to the show and reveal a few secrets about our Top Gear Christmas special in Nepal.”



YUNGBLUD



AIRS: 12PM GMT / 7AM ET

YUNGBLUD will be playing out a selection of his favourite tracks, taking questions from some of his most excitable fans, and hearing from one of his former flatmates who spills the beans on what he was like to live with.

YUNGBLUD says: “I have listened to this show on Christmas day for as long as I can remember!

“I literally argue about albums with my family over my Christmas dinner. I guess this year I’m gonna win!”



HOLLYWOOD SUPERSTARS



AIRS: 1PM GMT / 8AM ET

And joining Radio 1’s film critic Ali Plumb for the Hollywood All-Stars line-up are Emilia Clarke, John Boyega, Daisy Ridley, Jodie Whittaker, Rebecca Ferguson, Olivia Colman, Tobias Menzies, Kristen Stewart, Naomi Scott and more.

The All-Stars will each be choosing their favourite Christmas songs to curate the ultimate Superstar Playlist.



LOUIS TOMLINSON



AIRS: 2PM GMT / 9AM ET

As the end of the decade approaches, Louis Tomlinson will take Radio 1 listeners back to the year 2010 when One Direction were formed on ITV’s The X Factor.

Alongside playing some of his favourite Christmas tunes, he’ll be reliving some of his highlights from his time in the band, including the first time they toured America.

Louis Tomlinson says: “I’m so excited to be back in the Radio 1 studio to host my very own show this Christmas Day!

“I’ll be chatting about my highlights of the last decade, and playing my favourite Christmas tracks.”



SELENA GOMEZ



AIRS: 3PM GMT / 10AM ET

Selena Gomez rounds off BBC Radio 1's special Christmas Day Superstar Takeovers with her selection of festive tunes and personal favourites. She talks about the highlights of her year, including how huge 'Lose You To Love Me' has been. Radio 1 Best New Pop host Mollie King pops up to find out who she's obsessed with as we head in to 2020. And Little Mix drop off a question about Selena's Christmas plans!

TO LISTEN TO RADIO 1’s SUPERSTAR PLAYLISTS, TUNE-IN ON CHRISTMAS DAY FROM 10AM / LINK BELOW

Source BBC Radio 1

November 28, 2019 3:37pm ET by BBC Radio 1  

, , , , , , , ,

  Shortlink to this content: http://bit.ly/2QVSwQR

SHARE THIS

Latest Press Releases