Line-up announced for BBC Radio 1 Teen Awards

Tinie Tempah, Fall Out Boy, Rizzle Kicks, Jessie J, Icona Pop and James Arthur are all set to perform at the BBC Radio 1 Teen Awards on Sunday 3 November. The awards will also be presented by Radio 1 Breakfast host Nick Grimshaw and pop icon Rita Ora.

The BBC Radio 1 Teen Awards, now in its 4th year, will once again be held at Wembley Arena. As well as performances from the superstar line-up, the centrepiece of the show will be the recognition of three very special teenagers, who will each win a Teen Hero Award.

They were nominated by Radio 1 listeners and chosen by a panel of celebrities, Radio 1 DJs, journalists and experts from youth organisations. Celebrity winners will also be crowned for Best British Song, Best British Solo Artist, Best British Group, Best British Sports Star, Best British Actor, Best British TV Show and Best British Vlogger at the event as voted by Radio 1 listeners and presented by some very special surprise guests.

For the first year, the viewers of CBBC’s Friday Download will also have their very own award to vote for – The Friday Download Best British Breakthrough Award. The award will recognise an individual who has shown significant progress and made an impact in an area such as film, TV, music, sport or other areas of culture and entertainment.

Tickets will be available from 9am on Saturday 12 October and will cost £10 plus booking fee. There will a minimum of two tickets and a maximum of four tickets to be purchased in one transaction and the event is open to 14 to 17-year-olds.

The BBC Radio 1 Teen Awards will be broadcast on Radio 1, and can be watched on mobile.

Nick Grimshaw, presenter of the Radio 1 Breakfast Show, says: "The Teen Awards are one of the jewels in the crown in Radio 1's year and it's an honour to host it again. Always loud, hectic and chaotic, Rita is gonna need some earplugs. I hope after this we can present everything together!"

Piers Bradford, Commissioning Editor, BBC Radio 1, says: “The Radio 1 Teen Hero Awards are a great opportunity to shine a light on some amazing teens. We receive hundreds and hundreds of inspiring and inspirational stories during the nomination process, and it is almost an impossible task to decide who is most deserving of the award. One thing you can guarantee is that the winners will be incredible – and so is the line-up!”

Notes to Editors

The full line-up is:

  • Tinie Tempah
  • Fall Out Boy
  • Rizzle Kicks
  • Jessie J
  • Icona Pop
  • James Arthur

For more information on ticketing and voting please visit

October 1, 2013 9:09am ET by BBC Radio 1   Comments (0)

, , , ,


Latest Press Releases