Jorja Smith named 2018 BRITs Critics' Choice Award winner

2018 BRITs nominations will be announced live on ITV during 'The BRITs Are Coming' on Jan 13 at 5.45pm

ITV will broadcast the ceremony live from 7.30pm with red carpet coverage scheduled to start at 6pm that evening.

(If you do not live in the UK, you can still watch the BRITs 2018 Worldwide Live Stream on YouTube).

Following on from the January 13 BRITs Nominations Show, the Brit Awards themselves are scheduled to take place later on Wednesday 21 February, 2018 from The O2 Arena, London.

The BRIT Awards with Mastercard have today announced that Jorja Smith is the winner of the 2018 Critics’ Choice Award. Jorja will be the first recipient of a 2018 BRIT Award designed by Sir Anish Kapoor at the nominations launch on January 13th. Further launch details to be revealed. 2018 will also mark ten years since the very first Critics’ Choice award was given to Adele back in 2008.

The Award marks the end of an incredible year for Jorja Smith, which has seen her collaborate with Drake on ‘Get It Together’, feature on his ‘More Life’ project and perform as a special guest at the Toronto superstar’s UK headline shows. Jorja caught the attention of UK music critics with her debut single ‘Blue Lights’ and has continued to win over fans and the industry alike with tracks such as The Great Gatsby inspired ‘Beautiful Little Fools’.

Jorja Smith said: “I cannot believe it, it's been an unforgettable 2017 during which I've fulfilled so many of my dreams and this is such a special way to end the year... and to be part of an all female shortlist alongside Mabel and Stefflon Don, who've both had incredible 2017s, makes it even better! There's lots more to come in 2018 from all of us and I will do my best to make it another memorable year!”

BRITs Chairman and Chairman & CEO of Sony Music UK & Ireland Jason Iley said: “The Critics’ Choice Award has an incredible track record of showcasing some of the most exciting up-and-coming artists for the last ten years. Jorja Smith has a huge future ahead of her and looks set to follow in the footsteps of the most successful past Critics’ Choice winners.”  

Mabel and Stefflon Don are this year’s runners up to overall winner Jorja Smith. Since its inception in 2008, the BRITs Critics’ Choice Award has successfully predicted and identified the future stars of British recording talent. Previous winners including Adele, Emeli Sandé, Sam Smith and last year’s winner Rag ‘N’ Bone Man, have gone on to achieve phenomenal chart success both in the UK and globally. Collectively, the BRITs Critics’ Choice winners have sold over 70 million albums globally.

The Critics’ Choice Award is celebrating its 10th anniversary year. Full list of Critics’ Choice winners:

2008            Adele
2009            Florence + The Machine
2010            Ellie Goulding
2011            Jessie J
2012            Emeli Sandé
2013            Tom Odell
2014            Sam Smith
2015            James Bay
2016            Jack Garratt
2017            Rag ’n’ Bone Man
2018            Jorja Smith 

Listen to the Critics’ Choice shortlist on Apple Music here: BRIT Awards 2018 on Apple Music.

Mastercard is celebrating 19 years as sponsor of The BRIT Awards and continues its sponsorship to its 20th Anniversary with the much sought-after Mastercard Album of the Year Award.

December 4, 2017 5:57am ET by BPI  

, ,

  Shortlink to this content:


Latest Press Releases