Ed Sheeran's debut album '+' to be released on September 12


+ is the hugely anticipated debut album by Ed Sheeran set for release on September 12 via Asylum Records.  The album features the Top 3 hit ‘The A Team’ which has already sold over 450,000 copies - making it the highest charting and biggest selling UK debut all year. ‘The A Team’ still resides firmly in the UK Top 5 some 3 months later. + also features the oncoming smash ‘You Need Me, I Don’t Need You’ (out on August 28).

Ed Sheeran’s + is timeless song-writing informed as much by Jay-Z and Eminem as by Bob Dylan and Damien Rice.  The flame-haired 20-year-old’s lyrics talk about the city he loves and the people in it, the people made by it, and those damaged by it. They also talk of love and of loss. ‘Song writing phenomenon’(Q Magazine) - Ed’s talent is evidenced on songs like ‘Small Bump’ – a true story with a heart-wrenching twist about a friend and her baby, whereas ‘Drunk’ “I wanna be drunk when I wake up, on the right side of the wrong bed” tackles an altogether different subject. ‘Wake Me Up’ is tender “then you’d lie with me, til I fall asleep and flutter eyelash on my cheek, between the sheets” and was written when heavily intoxicated. The autographical, show stopper ‘You Need Me, I Don’t Need You’ includes ‘I’ve done around about a thousand shows, but I haven’t got a house plus I live on a couch, so you believe the lyrics when I’m singing them out’.

Aged 16, Ed arrived in London from Suffolk with one thing on his mind: playing gigs, as many as he could and as often as he could. Selling CD’s out of his rucksack he supported himself and gathered fans one at a time. Over 5 self-made, and self-released EPs Ed demonstrated his talent and breadth. Written and recorded between shows over several years, largely in a home-studio just outside London with collaborator Jake Gosling + is the next exciting stage in Ed’s do-it-yourself career.

September 12 will see the release of + on Asylum Records. “I’d like to say it’s all about positivity,” Ed says of the album’s title, “but really it’s just a cool sign that I love”.

1. The A Team
2. Drunk
3. U.N.I.
4. Grade 8
5. Wake Me Up
6. Small Bump
7. This
8. The City
9. Lego House
10. You Need Me, I Don’t Need You
11. Kiss Me
12. Give Me Love 



August 24, 2011 9:43am ET by Ed Sheeran   Comments (0)

, , , , , , ,


Latest Press Releases