hmv has announced the next drop of exclusive vinyl that will form part of its specially curated 1921 Centenary Editions, a collection of some of hmv’s favourite albums from the past 100 years. The entire series will be available for purchase in-store and online from 25th September.

The latest instalment of the collection includes Dolly Parton’s “The Very Best Of”, the Academy Award-winning Original Soundtrack to “The Sound of Music” and A$AP Rocky’s debut album “Long Live A$AP”.

All records will be presented with an hmv exclusive limited-edition obi strip, and are available in limited runs.

The titles join Alanis Morrisette’s multi-million selling ‘Jagged Little Pill’, The Libertine’s self-titled sophomore album and ‘Sam Smith’s acclaimed debut album ‘In the Lonely Hour’ among others already announced.

hmv’s Exclusives Day, celebrating the entertainment retailer’s 100th birthday, saw queues at stores across the country as vinyl fans snapped up the coveted records.

Phil Halliday, Managing Director at hmv and Fopp, said: “It’s been fantastic celebrating our 100th birthday year so far with our customers, and seeing their reaction to our Centenary Editions vinyl. We’re really excited to bring another drop to the collection and hope the public will enjoy the line up so far and look forward to further releases as we continue to celebrate this special anniversary.”

A full list of the newly announced albums can be seen below:

Lou Reed – Transformer (

Considered an influential landmark in the glam rock genre, the album includes Reed’s most successful single, “Walk on the Wild Side”. With famous fans such as David Bowie and Andy Warhol, “Transformer” encapsulated Reed’s raw talent perfectly.

Dolly Parton – The Very Best Of (

Since her first single in 1960, Dolly Parton has written over 3,000 songs and established herself as one of the finest singers and songwriters in Country & Western history. “The Very Best of Dolly Parton” features 20 tracks including the iconic ‘9 to 5’, ‘I Will Always Love You’, ‘Jolene’ and ‘Here You Come Again’.

Paloma Faith – Fall to Grace (

The second studio album by the British pop singer. Described by Faith as more 'cinematic' than her debut record, the album was co-produced by Nellee Hooper, best known for his work with Bjork, and includes the hit single 'Picking Up the Pieces', as well as '30 Minute Love Affair' and 'Just Be'.

Madness – Absolutely (

The second album from the British ska band, originally released in September 1980. “Absolutely” spawned some of the band's biggest hits, most notably 'Baggy Trousers', 'Embarrassment' and 'The Return of the Los Palmas 7'.

Motorhead – Overnight Sensation (

13th studio album by Motorhead, originally released in 1996. Following the departure of Wurzel (Michael Burston) in 1995, the band returned to the same three-man 'classic Motorhead line up'.

Sound of Music – Original Soundtrack (

Winner of five Academy Awards, including Best Picture and Best Scoring of Music, “The Sound of Music” has become the most popular movie musical ever made. The soundtrack features popular favourites such as: 'Edelweiss', 'My Favourite Things', 'Climb Every Mountain', 'Do-Re-Mi', 'Sixteen Going on Seventeen', 'The Lonely Goatherd' and 'The Sound of Music'.

The Clash – The Clash (

Debut studio album by the legendary British punk band. Written and recorded over three weeks in February 1977 for a paltry £4,000, it would go on to reach No. 12 on the UK charts, and has been included on many retrospective rankings as one of the greatest punk albums of all time. Tracks include 'Janie Jones' and 'White Riot'.

A$AP Rocky – Long Live A$AP (

Debut solo album from the American rapper. Featuring the singles 'Goldie' and 'F**ckin' Problems', the album boasts guest appearances from Florence Welch, Schoolboy Q, Danny Brown and many others.

Source HMV

September 8, 2021 5:00am ET by Pressparty  

  Shortlink to this content:


Latest Press Releases