John Mayer's New Album "Born and Raised" to be Released on May 22

"Shadow Days" Single Available On iTunes Tuesday, March 6

Columbia Records is pleased to announce that Born and Raised, the next album from Grammy Award-winning singer, songwriter and musician John Mayer, will be released on May 22. The first single, "Shadow Days," will be out on March 6 and available on iTunes.

Mayer produced Born and Raised with Don Was, who's worked on albums for acts such as the Rolling Stones, B.B. King and Bonnie Raitt.  Rock legends David Crosby and Graham Nashprovide vocals on the album's title song. Musicians joining Mayer on the album and on the road include highly-regarded keyboardist/pianist Chuck Leavell—who has worked with the Rolling Stones, Eric Clapton and The Allman Brothers Band—as well as previous collaborators Sean Hurley on bass and Aaron Sterling on drums.  Jim Keltner makes a special appearance on drums on "Something Like Olivia." Rounding out the touring band are David Ryan Harris on guitar and vocals, Doug Pettibone on guitar and Michito Sanchez on percussion.  

Columbia Records recently announced that Mayer will do an 18-date spring tour that kicks off April 9 in Bloomington, IN. Stops on the tour include Detroit, Providence, Buffalo, Memphis, Kansas City, Las Vegas and Phoenix. He will also be performing at South By Southwest in Austin on March 17, and the New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival on April 29.

Mayer's previous albums—Room for Squares, Heavier Things, Continuum and Battle Studies—have sold more than 12 million copies combined.  He has been honored with seven Grammy Awards and an additional 11 nominations.  He has also been included in Time Magazine's annual Time 100 list of the most influential contemporary thinkers, leaders, artists and entertainers, and twice been featured on the cover of Rolling Stone Magazine's annual "Guitar" issue.

John Mayer -- Born and Raised -- produced by John Mayer and Don Was

  1. Queen of California
  2. The Age of Worry
  3. Shadow Days
  4. Speak for Me
  5. Something Like Olivia
  6. Born & Raised
  7. If I Ever Get Around To Living
  8. Love is a Verb
  9. Walt Grace's Submarine Test, January 1967
  10. Whiskey, Whiskey, Whiskey
  11. A Face To Call Home
  12. Born & Raised (Reprise)



February 29, 2012 10:54am ET by John Mayer   Comments (0)

, , , , , , ,


Latest Press Releases