Shortlink to this content:

Monday, March 7, 2016 5:55am ET by  
Comments (0)

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

LIGHTS to release new acoustic album 'Midnight Machines'

Canadian electro-pop artist Lights, has just announced that she will release Midnight Machines, which consists of six acoustic songs from her third studio album Little Machines, plus two brand new songs. The acoustic album is set for April 8th via Warner Bros. Records. Midnight Machines is available for pre-order today here. The never-before-heard tracks include Follow You Down and Head Cold. The video for Meteorites, premiered internationally on NYLON last week. 

Ahead of Midnight Machines, Lights returns to the UK for a full-band tour, making stops in Glasgow, Manchester, Brighton and two nights in London. The single Same Sea, beautifully re-imagined on this special acoustic release, is picking up a raft of spot plays on UK radio and impacts during the tour on 18th March.

"Midnight Machines is more than just an acoustic record, it's a complete reinvention of some of the songs from Little Machines," said Lights. “I worked with a string section and my band to create this ultra vibey, late night version. Making the video for Meteorites was almost as interesting to work on because I had to learn the song backwards and sped up to create the slow surreality of the shots."

Midnight Machines is Lights' third acoustic album, a tradition that started when she reinterpreted her first studio release, and it has carried through on every album. This time, Lights worked with a string quartet on completely new and full arrangements that breathe completely different life into their electro-rock counterparts.

Lights has also been invited by Paramore to play Parahoy! which kicked off this weekend, alongside Chvrches and X Ambassadors, sailing from Miami to Mexico over four days. The sold-out cruise will include intimate gigs, and a chance to get up-close and personal with all the artists performing.

Midnight Machines tracklisting:

1. Up We Go
2. Same Sea
3. Follow You Down
4. Meteorites
5. Don't Go Home Without Me
6. Running With The Boys
7. Head Cold
8. Muscle Memory



Little Machines won the prestigious Canadian JUNO Award for Pop Album of the Year in 2015, and includes the brilliant singles, Up We Go and Same Sea. Little Machines also led to extensive touring and sold-out headline shows across North America and Europe, and last spring Lights took to the stage at Coachella, and toured alongside One Republic. 

UK tour dates:

  • 12.3.16 – Glasgow Art School
  • 13.3.16 – Manchester Sound Control – SOLD OUT
  • 14.3.16 – Brighton Concorde 2
  • 15.3.16 – London Hoxton Bar & Kitchen
  • 16.3.16 - London Hoxton Bar & Kitchen

Last summer, Pressparty sat down for an in-depth chat with LIGHTS and she teased a re-release of 'Little Machines':  "I do have plans for a release, and I think the fans will be pleased with what I've got for my spin on Little Machines. Different than anything I've done in the past. Stay tuned!"

Follow us: @Pressparty on Twitter Pressparty on Facebook.

Watch the video for the acoustic reworking of 'Meteorites' here:


  Shortlink to this content: