“Lower Dens transforms the upbeat ’80s tune into a modern, synthetic lullaby carried by lead singer’s Jana Hunter’s celestial vocals.” ­–SPIN
“Lower Den's take on the legendary pop tune is more re-embodiment than cover, with frontwoman Jana Hunter's chilling vocals over mournful, soaring 80s guitar riffs; they make it their own.” –Paper Magazine
NEW YORK, NY --- The Time Is Now—a compilation album created specifically to benefit amfAR, The Foundation for AIDS Research—arrives in stores and at all digital retailers today via Republic Records and Mass Appeal.
Get it HERE.
The Time Is Now transports some of music’s biggest stars back to the 1980s and invites listeners to help in the fight to end AIDS. The 14-track collection boasts new ‘80s covers reenvisioned, reinvigorated, and resurrected by everyone from Sugar for Sugar [feat. Scarlett Johansson] and DNCE to PhantogramDita Von Teese, and many more.
Since its announcement, The Time Is Now has drummed up overwhelming press enthusiasm and acclaim. PitchforkSpinStereogum, and many more featured Lower Dens’ take on Hall & Oates’ “Maneater.” Meanwhile, People exclusively premiered Sugar for Sugar’s soulful and seductive rendition of New Order’s “Bizarre Love Triangle, going on to claim, “When Scarlett Johansson isn’t busy starring in box-office hits, she’s lending her famously sultry voice to the music industry—and for a good cause.”
The artwork for the album cover was designed exclusively for amfAR by the talented and generous British artist Tracey Emin. 
The Time is Now is the brainchild and labor of love of executive producers Michelangelo Lacqua, internationally acclaimed music curator, Andy Boose, longtime producer of many of amfAR’s events, and Peter Bittenbender, CEO of Mass Appeal.
“The 1980s was a decade of revolutionary changes in the music scene, with an explosion of new sounds and rhythms, the ascendance of MTV, and the emergence of new musical movements on both sides of the Atlantic,” said Bittenbender. “Music also provided the soundtrack to people’s daily lives and was a source of inspiration and solace with the advent of HIV/AIDS. This album is a tribute to that extraordinary time,” said Lacqua. “The Time Is Now is a music-driven call to action in support of amfAR’s push to end HIV/AIDS in our lifetime,” said Boose.
Since the beginning of the epidemic, musicians have supported the fight against AIDS in countless ways, raising awareness and funds through benefit concerts, donated royalties and proceeds, and other contributions. Throughout its history, amfAR has enjoyed the steadfast and generous support of the music industry. In 1985, Dionne Warwick, Elton John, Gladys Knight, and Stevie Wonder recorded a collaborative rendition of the song, “That’s What Friends Are For,” to raise money for amfAR. The song was Billboard’s number one single for 1986 and raised millions of dollars for AIDS research.

The Time Is Now is a great example of our longstanding relationship with the music industry, and we are deeply grateful to the artists who graciously donated their time and talents to the making of this album,” said amfAR Chief Executive Officer Kevin Robert Frost. “With continued support for HIV research, we are confident that we will ultimately find a cure for the millions of people living with HIV/AIDS today.”
To mark the occasion of The Time is Now, Soho House held a multi-city record listening event at Soho Houses in London, New York and Los Angeles on September 8, which included special performances and appearances by the artists featured on the album, including Brazilian Girls, Lower Dens and Theophilus London. See photos from the events here.
The full track listing for The Time Is Now is:

  1. “Take Me Home” (Phil Collins), Performer: Phantogram
  2. “Bizarre Love Triangle” (New Order), Performer: Sugar for Sugar
  3. “Under the Milky Way” (The Church), Performer: Metric
  4. “Whip It” (Devo), Performer: Brazilian Girls
  5. “Rio” (Duran Duran), Performer: Bebel Gilberto
  6. “What's Love Got to Do With It” (Tina Turner), Performer: DNCE
  7. “Billie Jean”(Michael Jackson), Performer: Aloe Blacc
  8. “Do You Really Want to Hurt Me” (Culture Club), Performer: Dita Von Teese and Sebastien Tellier
  9. “Maneater” (Hall & Oates), Performer: Lower Dens
  10. “Genius of Love” (Tom Tom Club), Performer: Chaos Chaos
  11. “I Wanna Dance With Somebody (Who Loves Me)” (Whitney Houston), Performer: Marian Hill
  12. “Pride (In the Name of Love)” (U2), Performer: LP
  13. “Lovesong” (The Cure), Performer: Yuna
  14. “Dance Hall Days” (Wang Chung), Performer: Theophilus London


Taylor Vaughn
Republic Records
E: Taylor.Vaughn@umusic.com
P: 212-331-2420

Joana Casas
E: joana.casas@amfar.org
P: 212.806.1602

About Republic Records
A division of Universal Music Group, the world's leading music company, Republic is home to an all-star roster of multi-platinum, award-winning legends and superstar artists such as Ariana Grande, Black Sabbath, Florence + the Machine, Godsmack, Gotye, James Blake, James Bay, John Mellencamp, Keith Richards, Nickelback, Of Monsters and Men, Seth MacFarlane, Zendaya, among many others. Founded by brothers and chief executives Monte and Avery Lipman, it is also comprised of innovative business ventures including American Recordings (The Avett Brothers), Brushfire (Jack Johnson), Cash Money (Lil Wayne, Drake, Nicki Minaj), John Varvatos Records (Zac Brown Band), Lava Records (Jessie J, Lorde), Monkeywrench (Pearl Jam), Casablanca Records (Stromae, Tïesto), NBC's The Voice, XO (The Weeknd), School Boy Records (PSY, Sheppard), among others. In addition, Republic maintains a long-standing strategic alliance with country powerhouse Big Machine Label Group which is comprised of Big Machine Records (Taylor Swift, Tim McGraw, The Band Perry, Florida Georgia Line, The Eli Young Band) and Dot Records (Maddie + Tae).
ABOUT Mass Appeal Records
Mass Appeal Records is an urban alternative music division that serves as the sonic extension of the Mass Appeal brand. Birthed in May 2014, Mass Appeal along with hip hop icon Nasir “Nas” Jones, have created a powerful platform that aims to shine a light on DIY artists emerging from the many pockets of urban culture. At Mass Appeal Records, we share the same passions that our artists possess; we’re as devoted to promoting the music as they are to making it.
About amfAR:
amfAR, The Foundation for AIDS Research, is one of the world’s leading nonprofit organizations dedicated to the support of AIDS research, HIV prevention, treatment education, and advocacy.  Since 1985, amfAR has invested $450 million in its programs and has awarded more than 3,300 grants to research teams worldwide. For more information, visit www.amfar.org

October 8, 2016 4:40am ET by Republic Records   Comments (0)

, , , , , , ,

  Shortlink to this content: http://bit.ly/2dMrGaC


Latest Press Releases