Trixie Mattel’s ‘Barbara’ Is “A Joyride Down The Pacific Coast Highway”


Shore Fire Media

Trixie Mattel has dropped her third album ‘Barbara’, digging her heels even further into the music world with a two-part collection of songs that will transport you to a surf party one second and to a fireside beach singalong the next.

Press have already praised the album which marries an amped-up, plugged-in 60s/70s rock sound with Trixie’s chart-topping* folk music to create not only a record that “is a joyride down the Pacific Coast Highway” (Vanity Fair) but also one which showcases the diverse talents of an artist who has -- be it with her music, writing, comedy, or cosmetics entrepreneurship - redefined what it means to be a drag artist in 2020.

Album highlights include first single “Malibu,” which Billboard called “a surf-rock jam complete with plugged-in guitars, a hand-clap chorus and some strong summer vibes,” her sugary ode to her celebrity crush Jesse Eisenberg on the aptly titled “Jesse, Jesse”, and a touching cover of LGBTQ+ country music trailblazing act Lavender Country’s “I Can’t Shake The Stranger Out Of You” (retitled “Stranger”), a devastating lovelorn examination of the complexities of sexual intimacy in the gay community.

Watch Trixie in the studio with Lavender Country’s Patrick Haggerty during the recording of “Stranger”.

Listen to her chat about the new album with host Ari Shapiro on NPR’s All Things Considered below: “Trixie Mattel Balances Genre, History And Humor On 'Barbara'”

‘Barbara’ was released by PEG Records, a member label of Warner Music Group’s Alternative Distribution Alliance. PEG Records is a division of Producer Entertainment Group, an LGBTQ-focused management company representing many of today’s biggest drag artists.

Trixie has also just embarked on her North American “Trixie Mattel: Grown Up” tour in conjunction the release of ‘Barbara’, before taking the tour internationally in April. Dates and ticket info available at

'Barbara' Tracking Listing

1. “Malibu” **
2. “We Got The Look” ^^
3. “Girl Next Door” **
4. “Jesse Jesse” ++

5. “Gold” ++
6. “I Don’t Have A Broken Heart” ++
7. “I Do Like You” ++
8. “Stranger” ##

++ written by Trixie Mattel
** co-written by Trixie Mattel & Nick Goldston
^^ written by Ashley Levy of the Blah Blah Blahs
.## written by Patrick Haggerty and Robert Hammerstrom (of Lavender Country)

Trixie has turned her success as the winner of RuPaul’s Drag Race All Stars into pop culture gold, also co-creating and starring in the wildly successful comedy web show UNHhhh with fellow Drag Race alum Katya Zamolodchikova, which was later adapted into the Viceland program The Trixie & Katya Show.

Trixie is the subject of the documentary “Trixie Mattel: Moving Parts” which premiered at the Tribeca Film Festival last spring, and she also recently released her new comedy special “Trixie Mattel: Skinny Legend”. She is also the founder and CEO of Trixie Cosmetics, which aims to bridge the gap between a youthful fun irreverent spirit & high quality products.

Trixie recently was named one of the OUT100, made an appearance on Jimmy Kimmel Live!, wrote a guest-essay for NPR, and had numerous other appearances throughout the media landscape including Vogue, Rolling Stone, Billboard, Vanity Fair, Entertainment Weekly, GQ, and more.

  • previous album ‘One Stone’ topped the iTunes Singer/Songwriter and Billboard Heatseekers charts

February 10, 2020 1:25pm ET by Shore Fire Media  

, ,

  Shortlink to this content:


Latest Press Releases