Grammy-Winning Producer Daniel Tashian Announces Second Children's Album 'Mr. Moonlight' Due June 5

Follows 2019 GRAMMY-nominated debut children's album 'I Love Rainy Days'

Tashian created and recorded the entire 8-track album with his three daughters in two weeks during quarantine

New single "How Old Should I Be" available today (5.15). Listen here:


Shore Fire Media

Daniel Tashian — a 2018 GRAMMY Album of the Year winner for his production work on Kacey Musgraves’ ‘Golden Hour’ — announces ‘Mr. Moonlight,’ his new children’s record due Fri., Jun. 5 via Big Yellow Dog Music. The record follows his 2019 GRAMMY Best Children’s Music Album-nominated record ‘I Love Rainy Days.’

Like most, Tashian has been quarantining at home with his family. With songcraft and an ear for melody honed through his critically acclaimed work as a songwriter and producer, Tashian used his first two weeks in quarantine to write and record new music in his home studio. The result is an uplifting, imaginative album of 8 original songs, created alongside his three daughters Tigerlily, Tinkerbell and Matilda.

The album's playful new single “How Old Should I Be” is available today (5.15). Listen here:

Tashian brings his whole family together with ‘Mr. Moonlight,’ with the kids on vocals and his wife Lillie creating the album art. Through the process, Tashian drew inspiration from summers spent with his grandparents in the 70s and 80s, watching the magical characters from Sesame Street, Electric Company and The Pink Panther. Listeners can hear him recreate that magic through ‘Mr. Moonlight’ — an endearing, omnipresent character he created — with a charm like no other. These lighthearted tunes provide a much-needed escape and rare comforting glow.

“I hope the album inspires parents everywhere to think back on the magic times of their childhood,” says Tashian. “Think back on the moments and try to remember that kids need time and space to grow, and kindness.”

Album tracks “If I Built A House” and “Pirate Life” are also available anywhere you can find music.

In addition to his award-winning work with Kacey Musgraves, Tashian has collaborated with artists like Brett Eldredge, Maisie Peters, Lucie Silvas, NeedtoBreathe and many more. For more on Daniel Tashian, please visit

‘Mr. Moonlight’ Tracklist:
All songs written and recorded by Daniel, Tigerlily, Tinkerbell and Matilda Tashian

  1. Clouds
  2. If I Built a House
  3. Pirate Life
  4. How Old Should I Be
  5. Mr. Moonlight
  6. Paris (the City of Love)
  7. Colors
  8. Book of Dreams

May 15, 2020 6:25pm ET by Shore Fire Media  

, ,

  Shortlink to this content:


Latest Press Releases