Kesha Offers Impassioned Take On T. Rex’s “Children Of The Revolution”

“The Badass Of Pop”(Billboard) Interprets Marc Bolan Gem For The Hal Willner-Produced All-Star Homage Angelheaded Hipster: The Songs Of Marc Bolan & T. Rex (Out September 4 On BMG)


Shore Fire Media

GRAMMY-nominated popstar Kesha has shared her galvanizing interpretation of T. Rex’s 1972 standout “Children Of The Revolution,” the latest release from BMG’s two-disc celebration of the 2020 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee, lovingly crafted by the late Hal Willner and out September 4.

With production by Willner, Kesha amplifies the song with an instantly memorable vocal performance perfectly suited to the track’s gripping arrangement. Kesha is joined by a backing band of legends, including the MC5’s Wayne Kramer (guitar), Elvis Costello’s long-time Imposters rhythm section Davey Faragher (bass) and Pete Thomas (drums) and backing vocals from Rolan Bolan, Marc’s son. This illustrious cast rings true to the original 1972 T. Rex recording sessions, which featured Ringo Starr on drums and Elton John (who also appears on Angelheaded Hipster) on piano.

Listen to Kesha’s take on “Children Of The Revolution” here:

“Through a stroke of luck, I met the incredibly talented and kind, Hal Willner,” says Kesha. “We were in the same studio and he said he liked my red nudie suit, and then when he mentioned that he was working on a project that involved honoring Marc Bolan, I excitedly started rambling about how much T. Rex has influenced my music and my style. Right there we decided to record our own incarnation of ‘Children of the Revolution,’ a motherfucker of a song! I'm excited for the world to finally hear it! This project was so exciting and important to the late great Hal, and I’m humbled to be a part of this project honoring one of the most magical artists of the 20th century."

Kesha’s version of “Children Of The Revolution” follows the release of her latest album 'High Road' this past January via Kemosabe/RCA Records, which was called a body of work “wise and wild in equal measure” (Billboard), that “electrifies from the inside out” (American Songwriter) and “strikes a believable balance between vulnerability and the bluster she made her name on” (Stereogum).

“Children Of The Revolution” comes on the heels of Nick Cave’s “Cosmic Dancer” and Devendra Banhart’s “Scenescof.” Each of the 26 tracks on Angelheaded Hipster was produced by the acclaimed Hal Willner, who passed away from COVID-19 in early April. Willner had previously produced albums for Lou Reed, Marianne Faithfull and William S. Burroughs, and concept albums drawing upon the music of Thelonious Monk, Kurt Weill, vintage Disney films and others.

For Angelheaded Hipster, Willner brought together a wide-ranging cast to reimagine Bolan’s greatest songs - Kesha, Banhart and Cave as well as Marc Almond, Børns, Helga Davis, Perry Farrell, Elysian Fields, Gavin Friday, Emily Haines, Jesse Harris, Joan Jett, King Khan, Sean Lennon & Charlotte Kemp Muhl, Maria McKee, Father John Misty, John Cameron Mitchell, Gaby Moreno, Nena, Beth Orton, Peaches, Todd Rundgren, Lucinda Williams, Victoria Williams With Julian Lennon and U2 Feat. Elton John.

Willner worked on AngelHeaded Hipster for several years, with sessions spanning continents, from New York, Los Angeles and New Orleans, to London, Paris and Berlin. The project was conceived and executive produced by Bill Curbishley and Ethan Silverman. Kate Hyman had the creative vision to ask Willner to produce it.

Marc Bolan was a folk pop troubadour, Glam Rock’s metal guru, a pop star who burned as bright as any, a brilliant guitarist, style icon and poet. He has been famously cited as a major influence by some of the biggest names in music, from David Bowie to Johnny Marr. He died in 1977 aged just 29, after a car crash in London.

AngelHeaded Hipster: The Songs Of Marc Bolan and T. Rex / Tracklist:

Disc 1
1. Children Of The Revolution - Kesha
2. Cosmic Dancer - Nick Cave
3. Jeepster - Joan Jett
4. Scenescof - Devendra Banhart
5. Life’s A Gas - Lucinda Williams
6. Solid Gold, Easy Action - Peaches
7. Dawn Storm - BØRNS
8. Hippy Gumbo - Beth Orton
9. I Love To Boogie - King Khan
10. Beltane Walk - Gaby Moreno
11. Bang A Gong (Get It On) - U2 feat. Elton John
12. Diamond Meadows - John Cameron Mitchell
13. Ballrooms Of Mars - Emily Haines

1. Main Man - Father John Misty
2. Rock On - Perry Farrell
3. The Street and Babe Shadow - Elysian Fields
4. The Leopards - Gavin Friday
5. Metal Guru - Nena
6. Teenage Dream - Marc Almond
7. Organ Blues - Helga Davis
8. Planet Queen - Todd Rundgren
9. Great Horse - Jessie Harris
10. Mambo Sun - Sean Lennon and Charlotte Kemp Muhl
11. Pilgrim’s Tale - Victoria Williams with Julian Lennon
12. Bang A Gong (Get It On) Reprise - David Johansen
13. She Was Born To Be My Unicorn / Ride A White Swan - Maria McKee

Pre-Order the album BELOW.


June 26, 2020 10:05am ET by Shore Fire Media  

, ,

  Shortlink to this content:


Latest Press Releases