Dirty Projectors Release Flight Tower EP, Featuring Felicia Douglass on Lead Vocals

Watch the New Music Video for "Self Design"

See "Lose Your Love" Performed Live on Full Frontal with Samantha Bee

"What do you do with a five-person band when every member is talented enough to be the lead?" - TIME


Shore Fire Media

Today, Dirty Projectors share Flight Tower, the second of five EPs they're releasing on Domino in 2020. Helmed by keyboardist-percussionist Felicia Douglass - with songwriting, production, engineering and mixing from Dave Longstreth - the four songs of Flight Tower deliver a super-future sound both soulful and electronic. Resolute in the mantra that rhythm is a dancer, this is deep new Projectors for deep new times.

Listen to Flight Tower here: https://smarturl.it/FlightTowerEP

Watch the brand new music video for "Self Design," glitching and pulsating along to a groove that samples Harry Belafonte's "Dolly Dawn" and Maurice Ravel's "Miroirs": https://smarturl.it/SelfDesignYT

"Self Design" is the third video from Flight Tower, following the extraterrestrial "Inner World," and the ecstatic "Lose Your Love." When Dirty Projectors rearranged "Lose Your Love" for a remote performance on Full Frontal with Samantha Bee last week, drummer Mike Johnson translated the track's big buoyant beats to plates and a tea kettle, Dave transposed the pitch-shifted vocal riff to acoustic guitar, and Maia and Kristin seamlessly harmonized with Felicia's "silky smooth delivery" (EW) from separate locations. Watch here: https://smarturl.it/LoseYourLoveSB

Presenting a striking contrast to the yearning folk of the Windows Open EP, Flight Tower"suggests this whole five EP project might turn out to be a pretty interesting exercise in the malleability of one band" (Stereogum). As Time Magazine explains, "What do you do with a five-person band when every member is talented enough to be the lead? Give each artist an EP on which to be the frontperson, of course."

All music was recorded at Ivo Shandor in Los Angeles, documenting "a band entering a new chapter, one we're really excited to follow" (UPROXX). While more details will be announced soon, a limited edition deluxe five-record box set compiling the EPs is now available to pre-order here, with a limited quantity of individual 12" vinyl editions of Windows Open and Flight Tower available at the Domino Mart and local record stores.

Flight Tower Track List
Inner World
Lose Your Love
Self Design
Empty Vessel

June 26, 2020 12:05pm ET by Shore Fire Media  

, ,

  Shortlink to this content: https://bit.ly/2A1IS94


Latest Press Releases