Mighty SONG Writers Announces Lineup

Devon Gilfillian, Phil Augusta Jackson, Jewel, Valerie June, Mt. Joy’s Matt Quinn, Marcus Roberts, Amanda Shires with Jason Isbell, Wrabel


Shore Fire Media

Following last week’s kickoff from Amanda Shires with Jason Isbell, the Mighty SONG Writers video series is announcing the lineup of musicians for the coming weeks: Recent Capitol Records signee Devon Gilfillian, Emmy-nominated TV writer and hip-hop musician Phil Augusta Jackson, multi-Grammy nominee and New York Times best-selling author Jewel, acclaimed singer-songwriter Valerie June, AAA radio chart-topping indie-folk artist Matt Quinn of Mt. Joy, award-winning jazz pianist Marcus Roberts, and GLAAD Award-nominated pop songwriter Wrabel, with more artists and the exact schedule still to be announced.

Watch the series’ second video, in which Marcus Roberts plays several pieces and talks about how, when he was a child, his mother made sure that his blindness wouldn’t prevent him from learning to read and write, at media partner Literary Hub (where you can find transcripts for all videos as well): https://lithub.com/story-type/mighty-song-writers/

The Mighty SONG Writers series aims to raise money to support Philadelphia-based non-profit Mighty Writers, which teaches reading and writing to thousands of low-income and marginalized students every year and is seeing more need than ever during the pandemic. The series will continue with a new video every Wednesday.

Find more info on the Mighty SONG Writers series below.

Watch Marcus Roberts’ new video on Literary Hub below.

August 7, 2020 9:20am ET by Shore Fire Media  

, ,

  Shortlink to this content: https://bit.ly/2XE8SQt


Latest Press Releases