Grandaddy Yearns For Home In A Strange Place On “The Crystal Lake (Piano Version)”

From The Sophtware Slump ….. On A Wooden Piano

20th Anniversary Sophtware Slump 4xLP Vinyl Set Out November 20th

Photo Courtesy of Grandaddy


Shore Fire Media

Today, Grandaddy shares “The Crystal Lake (Piano Version),” the second look at their forthcoming The Sophtware Slump ….. on a wooden piano. Compared to the driving thrust and gurgling synths of the original, “The Crystal Lake (Piano Version)” emphasizes the profound loneliness of finding yourself isolated in a strange place, pining for a home abandoned.

Listen to “The Crystal Lake (Piano Version)” here:

Pre-Order/Pre-Save 'The Sophtware Slump ….. on a wooden piano':

The Sophtware Slump ….. on a wooden piano will be released digitally and as part of a 4-LP boxed set The Sophtware Slump 20th Anniversary Collection on November 20th through Dangerbird Records. A standalone LP and CD release of The Sophtware Slump ….. on a wooden piano will follow on February 19th, 2021.

….. on a wooden piano serves as a companion to Grandaddy’s “sad, quaint, low-key Y2K-era classic” (Pitchfork) The Sophtware Slump and casts the Modesto, CA band’s boldly orchestrated masterpiece in a much starker light. Grandaddy guitarist Jim Fairchild encouraged Lytle’s new recording because he wanted to hear what he calls “the totality of that original vision.” “With the scope of what Grandaddy has done and what Jason has done in his career,” says Fairchild, “I thought there was room to pay greater attention to my favorite view of him, which is as a songwriter.”

The result is an illuminating listen that highlights Lytle’s sharp melodies and the album’s prescient perspective on technological alienation. Listen to the “really quite beautiful” (Brooklyn Vegan) ….. on a wooden piano version of “Jed's Other Poem (Beautiful Ground),” released with last month’s announcement of the box set:

Grandaddy formed in 1992 and have released five official LPs, most recently 2017’s Last Place. In its 20th anniversary feature on The Sophtware Slump, Stereogum summed up the album, and Grandaddy, with the question: “What if West Coast indie, but sci-fi?” In an age of unprecedented connectivity, these songs spoke to significant solitude. Grandaddy members include Jason Lytle, Aaron Burtch, Jim Fairchild, Tim Dryden, and the late Kevin Garcia, who passed away in 2017.

1. He's Simple, He's Dumb, He's the Pilot (Piano Version)

2. Hewlett's Daughter (Piano Version)

3. Jed the Humanoid (Piano Version)

4. The Crystal Lake (Piano Version)

5. Chartsengrafs (Piano Version)

6. Underneath the Weeping Willow (Piano Version)

7. Broken Household Appliance National Forest (Piano Version)

8. Jed's Other Poem (Beautiful Ground) (Piano Version)

9. E. Knievel Interlude (The Perils of Keeping It Real) (Piano Version)

10. Miner At The Dial-a-View (Piano Version)

11. So You'll Aim Toward the Sky (Piano Version)

The 4xLP version includes a re-mastered version of the original record, the new ...on a wooden piano, and 2 LPs of rarities including the Signal to Snow Ratio and Through a Frosty Plate Glass EPs all for the first time on vinyl.

Pre-order here:

September 28, 2020 11:02am ET by Shore Fire Media  

, ,

  Shortlink to this content:


Latest Press Releases