Midge Ure announces brand new studio album ‘Orchestrated’, released December 1st on BMG

‘The record took eighteen months to make, but a lifetime of work to achieve’

Midge Ure releases brand new studio album
Released December 1st on BMG

BMG is proud to announce the release of ‘Orchestrated’ on December 1st 2017. This remarkable new album features stunningly reimagined orchestrated versions of Ultravox hits and Midge Ure classics including ‘Vienna’, ‘Dancing with Tears in My Eyes’, and ‘If I Was’.

Musician, singer-songwriter, producer and activist, Midge Ure has worn many musical hats over the years; however, working on a fully orchestrated album has been a new venture for Midge. Said Midge:

‘The record took eighteen months to make, but a lifetime of work to achieve’.

Midge Ure was one of the 80’s most visible pop/rock stars as the stylish lead singer of Ultravox. Born in Scotland, Midge began playing music in bands at a young age. As soon as he moved to London he soon found himself immersed in a scene he had previously only read about. He was a member of Slik, The Rich Kids, Visage, and, for a short while, Thin Lizzy, after which he joined Ultravox as the new front man.

Ultravox, the electronic rock pioneers who helped soundtrack the 1980’s, regrouped with Midge at the helm after two of the original band members left to pursue solo careers. As singer, songwriter, guitarist and second keyboardist, this second incarnation would become the classic line-up.

The album, ‘Vienna’, was recorded in 1980. Although it was the band's fourth album, it was the first with Midge, and the first one to chart. When the title track ‘Vienna’ was released as a single in early 1981 it became a huge hit and spent four weeks at no.2 in the UK singles chart and was the 5th highest selling single in the UK that year. The album itself re-entered the album chart and peaked at no.3. 

Midge produced and co-wrote the Band Aid anthem ‘Do They Know It’s Christmas?’ with Bob Geldof and also co-organised the Live Aid concert in 1985 as well as the Live 8 concerts. 

Midge and Bob jointly set up the Band Aid Trust, and is still active as a Band Aid Trustee. Both Midge and Bob have been honoured with two Ivor Novello awards for writing the song.

After working on the Band Aid project and during a hiatus from Ultravox, Midge pursued a highly successful solo career in 1985. The single, ‘If I Was’, was a UK number 1 single, and his debut album, ‘The Gift’, reached No. 2. After returning to Ultravox for what would be their final album together, the band effectively disbanded in 1987 and Ure concentrated solely on his solo career.

Now Midge Ure is back with this fabulous collection, celebrating his catalogue with these beautifully crafted versions of his classic hits.

Track listing:

  1. Hymn
  2. Dancing with Tears in My Eyes
  3. Breathe
  4. Man of Two Words
  5. If I Was
  6. Vienna
  7. The Voice
  8. Ordinary Man
  9. Death in The Afternoon
  10. Lament
  11. Recap the Wild Wind
  12. Fragile

‘Orchestrated’ is released on BMG December 1st 

For more Information please contact:
Daniel Hinchliffe and Hannah Tollman at Soundcheck PR
0207 437 0290

October 10, 2017 1:05pm ET by The Soundcheck Group   Comments (0)

, , , , , , , , ,

  Shortlink to this content: http://bit.ly/2ydePbo


Latest Press Releases

We may earn a commission from products purchased via links featured on our pages