The 12-Time Grammy Nominee’s Seventh Studio Album Available Everywhere Sept. 28th

Lupe Fiasco on new album: "Drogas Wave is based on a story about a group of slaves that jumped off of a slave ship transporting them from Africa"


Stoked PR

London, September 14, 2018 – After cryptically teasing fans for weeks on Instagram, Lupe Fiasco, independent multi-platinum Grammy award-winning visionary (2008, “Daydreamin”) announced the official street date for his next full-length studio album, “Drogas Wave” (1st & 15th/ Thirty Tigers) available everywhere Sept. 28, preorders available now.

An anticipated follow up to his 2017 Billboard no. 1 rap album “Drogas Light,” the 24-track new “Drogas Wave” stands alone as yet another reminder that the “brainy smurf of rap” (Pitchfork) has more to say, delivering to ravenous fans his most philosophically artistic project to date.

“Drogas Wave is based on a story about a group of slaves that jumped off of a slave ship transporting them from Africa,” said the independent rapper. Adding, “The slaves did not drown, and instead somehow managed to live under the sea. They spent the rest of their underwater existence sinking slave ships. ‘Drogas’ is the Spanish word for drugs. I made it an acronym which stands for ‘Don’t Ruin Us God Said.’”


Creative visionary and lyrical prodigy, 12-time Grammy award nominee and 2008 Grammy award winner, Lupe Fiasco, boasts accolades of legends. After exploding onto the hip-hop scene with his seminal 2006 debut Food & Liquor, the Chicago native and independent rapper form Thirty Tigers who was named GQ’s “Man of the Year” and Rolling Stone Magazine’s “Artist to Watch” hasn’t slowed down nor diluted. Regarded as the future of hip-hop by Jay Z and quickly tapped by Kanye for a standout verse on “Touch the Sky” (after remixing West’s hit “Diamonds from Sierra Leone,” Fiasco thereafter evolved from the backpack rap of his debut with a string of classics including 2007’s Lupe Fiasco’s The Cool and 2011’s Lasers, a prelude to the following year’s Food & Liquor II: The Great American Rap Album Pt. 1, which debut at no.1 on Billboard’s R&B/ Hip-hop chart. Critics heralded the album for being one of the most thought-provoking and relevant hip-hop albums of the Year. USA Today gave the album four out of four stars, with the Associated Press proclaiming Fiasco “raps masterfully on [Food and Liquor 2].” After departing from former label Atlantic Records following the release of 2015’s fan favorite Tetsuo & Youth, came Drogas Light, his first independent release as an artist which became yet another earmark on a track record of an artist who continually comes into new bloom. Drogas Wave, Fiasco’s seventh studio album will be available everywhere music is found on Sept. 28.

Track listing:

  1. In the Event of Typhoon
  2. Drogas
  3. Manilla
  4. Gold Vs. The Right Things To Do
  5. Slave Ship
  6. WAV Files
  7. Down (feat. Nikki Jean)
  8. Haile Selassie (feat. Nikki Jean)
  9. Alan Forever (feat. Crystal Torres)
  10. Helter Skelter
  11. Stronger (feat. Nikki Jean)
  12. Sun God Sam & The California Drug Deals (feat. Nikki Jean)
  13. XO (feat. Troi Irons)
  14. Don’t Mess Up The Children Interlude
  15. Jonylah Forever
  16. Kingdom
  17. Baba Kwesi Interlude
  18. Imagine (feat. SimonSayz & Crystal Torres)
  19. Stack That Cheese (feat. Nikki Jean)
  20. Cripple (feat. Elena)
  21. King Nas
  22. Quotations From Chairman Fred (feat. Nikki Jean & Bishop Edgar Jackson)
  23. Happy Timbuck2 Day
  24. Mural Jr.
Source Stoked PR

Follow us: @Pressparty on Twitter Pressparty on Facebook.

September 14, 2018 12:36pm ET by Pressparty  

, , , , ,

  Shortlink to this content:


Latest Press Releases