CALEXICO announce new album & tour! New video & free MP3 online now

CITY SLANG is thrilled to announce the release of CALEXICO’s new album Algiers, out September 10th 2012. In the United States the record will be released on ANTI, the home of Wilco, Tom Waits and now also Calexico.
Recorded in New Orleans, Joey Burns’ and John Convertino’s sixth album is arguably the most exciting and accessible CALEXICO record to date. It’s a fact emphasised by the band’s decision to name the album in tribute to the neighbourhood where they worked: Algiers.
The feel of Algiers is recognisably classic CALEXICO, but their style has been revitalised and reborn through the experience of recording in the magical city of New Orleans. Their work has spoken of dusty deserts and the loners that inhabit them, mixing America’s country music heritage with that of a Latin persuasion. In other words, it isn’t obviously affiliated with the sounds that have made New Orleans one of the premiere tourist destinations in the US. The choice of New Orleans was largely down to long time collaborator/producer Craig Schumacher. “We were talking about wanting to go to Europe and record,” Burns says, “but we never get our stuff together in time to make plans that far in advance. So where do you go that is nearby and has a European feel? New Orleans.”
You might think that after the 22 years since they first met, six studio albums and a suitcase of tour CDs, collaborations with the likes of Victoria Williams, Iron & Wine, Willie Nelson, Roger McGuinn and Nancy Sinatra, and soundtrack work to boot, there wasn’t much more they could achieve. But you’d be wrong. New Orleans clearly inspired them to make an album that sees them stretch out more effortlessly than ever before.
To celebrate the release of Algiers, Calexico are offering the first song from the record “PARA” as a free download and have also unveiled a beautiful video for the track, directed by Zachary Spiger (who recently worked with Lambchop on their Gone Tomorrow video).
CALEXICO will be embarking on an extensive European tour this Autumn supported by Laura Gibson & Band, performing in London at the below date:
Tuesday 18 September – LONDON – Forum (£20)
ALGIERS will be available on CD, limited 2CD Digipack, 180g vinyl LP in a heavy, embossed, tip-on cover and of course digitally.
ALGIERS artwork:
ALGIERS tracklisting:
01. Epic
02. Splitter
03. Sinner in the Sea
04. Fortune Teller
05. Para
06. Algiers
07. Maybe On Monday     
08. Puerto
09. Better and Better
10. No Te Vayas
11. Hush
12. The Vanishing Mind

June 6, 2012 10:58am ET by Work It Media   Comments (0)

, , , , , , , ,


Latest Press Releases