Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers Rock 'N' Roll Classic Damn The Torpedoes Expanded With Previously Unreleased Tracks for Deluxe Editions

SANTA MONICA, Calif., Oct. 13 -- One of the greatest albums in rock history gets even better with the November 9release on Backstreet/Geffen/UMe of the expanded and remastered Deluxe Edition of Damn The Torpedoes from Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers. The Deluxe Edition release will be available with a choice of four formats (1) on two-CDs, (2) on one audiophile quality Blu-ray disc, (3) on 2 180-gram vinyl LPs and (4) as an iTunes LP.

To watch a mini film on Damn The Torpedoes and the extra music included in the Deluxe Edition release, click here

All formats of the Deluxe Edition will come with nine additional bonus tracks not included on the original album. Seven of these tracks are previously unreleased including two studio tracks, "Nowhere" and "Surrender," both written by Tom Petty and recorded and completed during the Damn The Torpedoes sessions. The never-before-heard "Nowhere" was thought to have been lost in 1979 when the tape boxes were being moved daily to avoid the possibility that court bailiffs would claim them as part of Petty's assets in the lawsuit at the time. Recording engineer Ryan Ulyate found the song recently while he was listening to tapes searching for alternate versions of songs to be included on the current release. The original 1979 recording of"Surrender" is also included on the bonus disc. "Surrender" was a mainstay of Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers' concert setlists for many years although this original studio version recorded for Damn The Torpedoes, which includes Stan Lynch on drums, never saw the light of day until now. Also included on the bonus disc is an original demo for the B-side "Casa Dega" and an alternate take of "Refugee" as well as a trio of live performances at London's Hammersmith Odeon (March 6, 1980), including "Don't Do Me Like That," the first hit single from the album.

Digitally remastered from the original analog master tapes, all formats of Damn The Torpedoes – Deluxe Edition also feature liner notes by noted rock journalist/author David Fricke, rare photos, and lyrics to each track.

The vinyl edition of Damn The Torpedoes – Deluxe Edition will be released by ORG MUSIC on two 180 gram LPs mastered for vinyl from the original analog master tapes at Bernie Grundman Studios and pressed by Pallas in Germany.  The Blu-ray version of the album will be released on a high-resolution audio Blu-ray disc, featuring the original stereo mix and new 5.1 surround sound mix. The 24-bit 96K audio on the Blu-ray disc contains 256 times more resolution than a CD, providing greater detail and reproducing the music's full dynamic range, from the softest to the loudest sounds.  As a bonus the Blu-ray disc also includes the original music videos for "Here Comes My Girl" and "Refugee."

The first 15,000 copies of the vinyl and Blu-ray editions include a free download of the entire album in one of three high quality digital formats (320k MP3, 24/96 FLAC, or Apple Lossless), redeemable until November 9, 2011.

On August 3, Eagle Rock Entertainment released on DVD and Blu-ray an edition of their critically acclaimed Classic Albumsseries focusing on Damn The Torpedoes. The Damn The Torpedoes edition of Classic Albums unweaves the creative process behind the album featuring newly filmed interviews from Heartbreakers Tom PettyMike CampbellBenmont Tench, and Ron Blair, as well as co-producer Jimmy Iovine and engineer Shelly Yakus.

Also to be released in conjunction with the Damn The Torpedoes Deluxe Edition is an exclusive, limited edition and individually numbered 7" single featuring two previously unreleased tracks from the Damn The Torpedoes Deluxe Edition, "Nowhere" and "Surrender." The 7" will be released on November 26, 2010, and available only at independent retailers in celebration of the Back To Black Friday event.

Visitors to can now enjoy a special mini-site devoted to the upcoming release of Damn The Torpedoes Deluxe Edition featuring a 5-minute film devoted to the history of the album and perspectives on the bonus material from Mike Campbelland engineer Ryan Ulyate, as well as a selection from David Fricke's liner notes, photos, videos, and more.

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers have just finished a successful tour of North America in support of their latest album, Mojo,during which they played to more than 600,000 people. The Mojo Tour was Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers' highest grossing tour ever.


Disc One – Original Album


1. Refugee  


2. Here Comes My Girl


3. Even The Losers


4. Shadow Of A Doubt (A Complex Kid)


5. Century City


6. Don't Do Me Like That


7. You Tell Me


8. What Are You Doin' In My Life?


9. Louisiana Rain



Disc Two - Bonus Tracks


1. Nowhere*


2. Surrender*


3. Casa Dega/B-side


4. It's Rainin' Again/B-side


5. Shadow Of A Doubt (A Complex Kid)/Live - Hammersmith Odeon 1980*


6. Don't Do Me Like That/Live - Hammersmith Odeon 1980*


7. Somethin' Else/Live - Hammersmith Odeon 1980*


8. Casa Dega/Demo*


9. Refugee/Alternate Take*



*Previously unreleased


About Damn The Torpedoes and Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers

Damn The Torpedoes, Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers' third album (and first on Backstreet/MCA,) proved to be the breakthrough for the singer-songwriter-guitarist and his band (guitarist Mike Campbell, keyboardist Benmont Tench, bassist Ron Blair and drummer Stan Lynch).  The album was released on October 19, 1979, after a highly publicized lawsuit in which Petty made a groundbreaking stand for artist rights, refusing to be sold by one record company to another without his consent. Damn The Torpedoes became the group's first Top 10, remaining at #2 for seven weeks (only Pink Floyd's The Wall kept it from the top). It sold over 5-million copies, and had 3 top 40 hits and 4 top 5 rock-radio hits. The album was an immediate critical success, with Rolling Stone declaring Damn The Torpedoes "the Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers album we have all been waiting for."  

Produced by Petty and Jimmy Iovine, the album reached double platinum quickly and catapulted the band to arena performances where they played such classic cuts as the infectious Top 10 hit "Don't Do Me Like That," blistering rockers "Refugee" and "Here Comes My Girl," and the exhilarating "Even The Losers."  Bursting with full speed ahead American rock 'n' roll, the album brought together rock, folk, country and blues in what has become Petty and the Heartbreakers' signature style. The release garnered Petty his first Rolling Stone Magazine cover in February 1980. He has appeared on four covers since then. In 2003, nearly 25 years after its release, Rolling Stone honored Damn The Torpedoes on its list of "the greatest albums ever made," and in 2002 Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, during their first year of eligibility. Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers are one of the very few artists to score a top five record on the Billboard charts in five consecutive decades.

SOURCE Universal Music Enterprises




October 13, 2010 12:51pm ET by Pressparty   Comments (0)

, , ,


Latest Press Releases