Singer/Songwriter Crystal Bowersox Set to Release Debut 'Farmer's Daughter' on December 14th

"Crystal is a phenomenal young performer whose talent, positive energy and passion for music are sure to take her far.  I was thrilled to be able to perform with Crystal and I'm excited to hear what she has in store for us next." - Melissa Etheridge

"Crystal has a huge heart to match her giant voice. I am certain that she will find a willing audience ready to follow her musical journey for decades to come!" - Michael Franti

NEW YORK, Nov. 10, 2010 -- Crystal Bowersox will release her debut album, Farmer's Daughter (19 Recordings/Jive Records) on December 14th. The 2010 American Idol runner-up's set includes her original song, "Holy Toledo," a song she performed on the show as well as the arresting title track which chronicles her personal experience of dealing with child abuse.  Fans and Idol viewers know Crystalis a talented singer, but Farmer's Daughter further establishes her as a truly gifted songwriter. Farmer's Daughter was produced by David Bendeth (Paramore, Breaking Benjamin, Papa Roach).

After finishing up the 2010 American Idol Live Tour, Bowersox headed to New Jersey to begin production on her eagerly awaited debut. The twelve tracks, ten of them written or co-written by Bowersox, showcase her strong songwriting skills and her desire to infuse her lyrics with that raw emotion of someone who has lived. The album also contains eight songs written solely by Crystal, two co-writes, an additional track by Kara DioGuardi and Nickelback's Chad Kroeger titled "Hold On" and a cover of Buffalo Springfield's 1967 classic "For What It's Worth."  One very special song is "Mason," a song Bowersox co-wrote with her husband Brian Walker, which they performed together at their recent nuptials.

Farmer's Daughter Tracklisting:

  1. Ridin With The Radio  
  2. For What It's Worth
  3. Farmer's Daughter
  4. Holy Toledo
  5. Lonely
  6. Hold On
  7. On The Run
  8. Kiss Ya
  9. Speak Now
  10. Mine All Mine
  11. Mason
  12. Arlene

Born and raised in rural northwest Ohio, Bowersox began her musical journey at the age of 10.  She performed her original songs around town in local bars, festivals and charity functions.  At 17, she moved to Chicago, IL, performing in venues ranging from subway platforms to the House Of Blues. In 2006, the City of Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs chose Crystal to represent Chicago folk music in "Experience Chicago," in Birmingham, England, as part of their Sister Cities program. In 2007,Crystal went on a month-long, independent Small Cafe tour, including Ankara, Istanbul and Oaxaca, Mexico. After becoming a single mother in 2009, Bowersox successfully tried out for American Idol and went on to place second.  

In addition to her work with the Juvenile Diabetes Foundation and Girl Up! Bowersox found time to write a moving Op Ed piece for about her struggles with bullying and how that kind of behavior can impact young people.


SOURCE Jive Records



November 10, 2010 1:31pm ET by Pressparty   Comments (0)

, , ,


Latest Press Releases