Shortlink to this content:

Tuesday, November 8, 2022 1:00pm ET by  

, , ,

Taylor Swift Makes Billboard Artist 100 Chart History

Taylor Swift marks yet another milestone on the latest Billboard Artist 100 chart (Nov. 12) as she becomes the first artist to spend a full year at Number 1.

Swift amasses a record-extending 52nd week at the top the chart (non-consecutively), thanks to a second-week of success because of her latest effort Midnights. According to Luminate, the album adds a second week at Number 1 on the Billboard 200 with 342,000 equivalent album units earned - the largest second-week total for any album since Adele's 25 drew 1.162 million in its second frame on the chart back on Dec. 19, 2015.

The album's 342,000 units is also the third-biggest of the year, after the set's first week (1.578M) and the opening week of Harry Styles' Harry’s House (521,000).

Meanwhile, all 20 songs from Midnights (13 from its standard version and seven from its "3am Edition") rank on the Billboard Hot 100 chart for a second straight week, led by "Anti-Hero", which secures a second week at Number 1, followed in the top 10 by "Lavender Haze" at Number 6, "Midnight Rain" at Number 7 and "Bejeweled" at Number 9.

Swift has now led the Artist 100, Hot 100 and Billboard 200 simultaneously for 12 total weeks. Only Drake has spent more time ruling all three charts at the same time, accumulating 16 weeks.

Most Weeks at No. 1 on the Artist 100, Hot 100 & Billboard 200 Simultaneously:

  • Drake, 16
  • Taylor Swift, 12
  • Adele, 9
  • The Weeknd, 5
  • Ariana Grande, 2
  • Ed Sheeran, 2
  • Harry Styles, 2
  • Beyoncé, 1
  • Justin Bieber, 1
  • BTS, 1
  • Camila Cabello, 1
  • Future, 1
  • Kendrick Lamar, 1

Midnights was released on October 21, 2022, via Republic Records. The album was inspired by "13 sleepless nights" throughout Swift's life. The 32-year-old pop star announced the album at the 2022 MTV Video Music Awards in August. She told the audience at the Prudential Center: "I had sort of made up my mind that if you were going to be this generous and give us this, I thought it might be a fun moment to tell you that my brand-new album comes out October 21. And I will tell you more at midnight."

The album marks her first body of new work since her 2020 LPs Folklore and Evermore, and is a concept record about nocturnal contemplation, written and produced by Swift with Jack Antonoff as her main collaborator.

Listen/share Taylor Swift's album Midnights here now.

  Shortlink to this content: