Press Release: T.E Yates Releases Latest EP 'Strange Weather'

12th November 2021


Decent Music PR Limited

On Friday the 12th of November, Bristol-based songwriter and multi-instrumentalist T.E. Yates will release his new EP Strange Weather, the follow-up to his debut album Silver Coins and White Feathers. Continuing the feverishly eclectic stylings of his previous records, Yates also maintains the songwriting prowess and wry honesty that have won him plaudits from radio, press, peers and fans alike. His unique sound weaves effortlessly through Americana, Folk, Old-Time, 60s Pop, 70s Songwriters, Post-Punk, Rock and even Jazz and Ragtime.

Yates is joined on record by a host of extraordinary musicians. Among them AMA - UK multi-instrumentalist of the year C.J. Hillman (Laura Marling, Yola, Billy Bragg, JP Cooper) on Pedal Steel and Mikey Kenney (Vinicio Capossela, Band of Burns) on Fiddle. Though ambitious in instrumentation, the mastery of the musicians on Strange Weather allow for the intimacy and vulnerability of Yates’ writing to shine through.

On the 1st of November, Yates premieres the accompanying video to Condition, the opening track of Strange Weather - a reliably forthright and honest song about his experiences as a neurodivergent person. For this video, Yates has teamed up with fellow neurodivergent creative practitioners through Biggerhouse Films’ Different Voices project. Among others, the video features contributions from much-loved Bristol gig-goer and artist Jeffrey “Big Jeff” Johns.

In support of the EP release, Yates embarks on a UK tour on the 13th of November with The Jesus Bolt (former members of both Witness and The Blue Aeroplanes).

Former label-mate and darling of the London jazz scene, Alabaster dePlume has this to say about Yates - “T.E. Yates is a beautiful character. He’s not quite like the rest of us...He presents us with absolutely nothing but himself. He aspires to no grandeur. He offers, simply, his very soul.”

The EP will be released independently on both limited-edition CD (through Bandcamp) and on the major DSPs for stream and download.

Strange Weather EP tracklist:
1. Condition
2. Fierce Horses
3. Palace of Your Master
4. Fairy Tale
5. Jack of All Trades
6. Mystery Window

Tour dates:

Date City Venue
Saturday 13th November 2021 Manchester Saul Hay Gallery
Sunday 14th November 2021 Bath The Bell Inn
Thursday 25th November 2021 Worcester Paradiddles (TBC)
Wednesday 8th December 2021 Southamton The Art House
Thursday 9th December 2021 London The Troubadour
Friday 10th December 2021 Bristol Amba House
Saturday 11th December 2021 Exeter Exeter Cavern
Sunday 12th December 2021 Stockland The Kings Arms
Saturday 15th January 2022 Newport Le Pub
Friday 25th February 2022 North Shields The Engine Room
Saturday 26th February 2022 Stirling Allanwater Bewhouse
New Date TBC Stroud The Prince Albert
New Date TBC Preston Vinyl Trap
New Date TBC Wigan The Old Courts
New Date TBC Nottingham Running Horse
New Date TBC Billingshurst Live in the Living Room


Unassuming, unusual and enigmatic, T.E. Yates is a multi-disciplinary artist of rare and disarming qualities that must be seen and heard to be believed.

Most musicians boast of exploding onto their local scene in a glittering blaze of media hype and spontaneous applause. T.E. Yates, however, snuck in through an open window.

His name was not on the top line of event posters but rather a discreet artist signature in the bottom corner; his first gig flyers and album covers were ones he designed for other bands not himself. He’s performed in front of huge crowds but always as a hired hand or supporting player, a multi-instrumentalist in the shadows – mandolin, banjo, harmonica, even musical saw – you may have heard him on the tracks of other artists without even knowing it.

But now T.E. Yates has stepped out of the shadows, taking centre-stage with a formidable backing band (both onstage and on record) comprising members of Victorian Dad, The Bedlam Six, Mikey Kenney/Ottersgear, Gorilla Riot and Honeyfeet. Even when performing solo the man doesn’t travel light, his weird and wonderful drawings regularly making an appearance between songs, baffling and delighting audiences in equal measures.

His debut EP Possessed was released on Debt Records in 2013. His first full LP, entitled Silver Coins And White Feathers, was released on Debt Records in May 2017.

All Yates’ studio material to-date, including the forthcoming Strange Weather EP, was produced by WR Audio’s Biff Roxby (Honeyfeet, Bedlam Six, Liz Green, Elbow, 808 State, BC Camplight).
BBC Radio Manchester described Yates' first single as "Nick Drake's 'Hazy Jane' with a touch of Roy Orbison" and he has also received airplay on BBC Radio 6 Music courtesy of Tom Robinson.

Yates' first completed animated work, Evil Cat - a faithful adaptation of Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat synchronised to the music of the song from debut EP Possessed - was shortlisted for Best Music Video at the 2016 British Animation Awards. Evil Cat is also screening at the Poe Film Festival in Richmond, VA, USA – where Poe spent much of his life – in November 2021. Yates' animations have also featured on major music websites and channels including MTV, Kerrang! and Classic Rock Magazine.

November 11, 2021 12:30pm ET by Decent Music PR Limited  

, , , ,

  Shortlink to this content:


Latest Press Releases