Irish rock heavyweight Peter M Smith scales the heights with forthcoming single release

Collaboration with Spanish rockers Lax ‘n’ Busto ahead of powerful new album Upon This Rock

Collaboration with Spanish rockers Lax ‘n’ Busto ahead of powerful new album Upon This Rock.

Irish chart-topper Peter M Smith, who is poised to make his epic breakthrough in the UK, releases his new single High on February 24 as a taster of his forthcoming debut album Upon This Rock.

This explosive chunky strummer of a track about the mood-elevating power of carnal lust shows Smith is on the verge of greatness and on course to replicate the success the Dublin-born rocker is already enjoying at home.

Fresh from claiming the No 1 spot on the Irish rock charts with his haunting take on Love Will Tear Us Apart, he has now had a meeting of minds with the Spanish quartet Lax ‘n’ Busto - who are 17 albums into their career, have shifted more than a million records and like him are based in Barcelona – to team up on the single, which was inspired by his wife Jessica.

Peter M Smith says of the track: “High is an important record for me. I get to work with a legendary band that I am a fan of, Lax ‘n’ Busto. This is one of my favourite songs that I’ve written for this album. People are gonna enjoy the collaboration with a great Spanish band too.”

Raised on artists of the calibre of U2, Queen, Led Zeppelin and Jimi Hendrix, Smith has been writing songs since the tender age of just 12. He has channelled the energy of these classic influences and combined it with his own signature raw power-rock, honing it to perfection across his energising debut album due for release in May.

Primal, ballsy riffs and layers of hard-rocking, crunching chords are spread large across the 11 tracks, laced with Smith’s singular heartfelt, splenetic rock-soul vocals. The songs range from a dark examination of the anguish of tormented artists (Rough Diamonds) to his tribute to the rowdiness and excess of London’s East End (Requiem For Fighting), as well as a cover of Nirvana’s Territorial Pissings.

Speaking about his new release Peter M Smith explains he is “keeping things simple and just writing about what is happening on a personal level at the time. I'm not one to keep a diary; these songs are my personal account of what is going on at any given time“.        

The full tracklisting of Upon This Rock is:

  1. Speak No Evil
  2. High
  3. Rockstar
  4. Requiem for Fighting
  5. Rough Diamonds
  6. Song for Leah
  7. Alright Now
  8. Free Lover’s Disco
  9. Avenge the Maybes
  10. Felony
  11. Territorial Pissings

Showcasing his talent and building his reputation as a superstar-in-waiting with gigs around Europe, Smith recently toured the UK with former Motörhead star Phil Campbell And The Bastard Sons.

Peter M Smith releases the single High on February 24, followed by the album Upon This Rock on May 1.

For more on Peter M Smith:

(sample the album at

For more information, images or to request an interview contact Cat at Fifth Element PR on Tel: 0207 722 0000 or email: 

January 12, 2017 5:00am ET by Fifth Element PR   Comments (0)

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  Shortlink to this content:


Latest Press Releases