Shortlink to this content:

Friday, October 1, 2021 9:00am ET by  
Comments (0)

, , ,

Kylie Minogue’s “Can't Get You Out Of My Head” Turns 20

Today (Oct. 1), marks 20 years since the release of the Kylie Minogue’s classic, multi-platinum album Fever. Available to buy here.

The album, originally released on October 1, 2001, heralded an especially buoyant phase of the Australian superstar's career. The massive global success of the genre-defining lead single "Can’t Get You Out Of My Head" meant that expectations for Fever were particularly high and the reception to the album was ecstatic.

The LP immediately topped the charts in five countries, including the U.K. and Minogue's native Australia. It also achieved huge success in the States, where it reached No. 3 in the Billboard chart; eventually it would be certified 5x platinum in the U.K. and 7x platinum in Australia. It also won Best International Album at the 2002 Brit awards.

To celebrate the anniversary of the singer's classic album, a special 20th anniversary limited-edition will be released on white vinyl, including a unique print; the new edition will also be available on a frosted recycled clear cassette. A silver vinyl format and a range of bespoke Fever merchandize will also be available for purchase exclusively from All 20th anniversary editions are limited and will be available on October 15 in the U.K. and Australia, and the rest of the world on November 19. Fans can pre-order here.

Emboldened by the huge sales of her debut album for a new label, her iconic popstar status was about to be consolidated with an album that only she could make; in collaboration with writers and producers including Cathy Dennis, Richard Stannard, Julian Gallagher, Ash Howes and Rob Davis, Fever was a breath-taking tour de force which won massive critical acclaim and led to colossal global chart success.

The album launched with the lead single "Can’t Get You Out Of My Head". Its success speaks for itself, amassing a staggering 40 number ones across the globe, including Australia, U.K. and France, garnering multiple certifications in the process in Australia (3x platinum), U.K., Italy, Belgium (2x platinum), platinum across nine other countries and gold in the USA and New Zealand. It was complemented by a standout music video which introduced a new, more futuristic and stylised look for the star, a look which would form the core of the creative direction for her groundbreaking Fever tour.

Fever, Minogue’s eighth studio album, was perhaps the ultimate illustration of euphoric dance-pop of that era, an album where the many influences in her career synthesised into an assertively cohesive, confident whole.

As Minogue’s career continued to diversify and thrive after Fever, she achieved a remarkably strong and consistent run of hit singles and albums which continued with 2020’s DISCO. This current album’s success made Kylie the first woman to top the album chart across five decades.

Meantime Fever continues to have a life of its own with this new reissue, its status undimmed by the passing of 20 years. This week alone the Independent wrote:

"Can’t Get You Out Of My Head at 20: Kylie’s thrilling chart banger is the best pop song of the 21st century. Two decades on Fever remains a mesmerising listen. More than that it’s one of those rare LPs that transports you to a universe of its own making. Just like Minogue at the start of the Can’t Get You Out Of My Head video, it’s a project that hurtles towards a glittering horizon – and that sense of possibility is as thrilling today as it was 20 years ago".

Fever Tracklisting:
01. More More More
02. Love At First Sight
03. Can’t Get You Out Of My Head
04. Fever
05. Give It To Me
06. Fragile
07. Come Into My World
08. In Your Eyes
09. Dancefloor
10. Love Affair
11. Your Love
12. Burning Up

Listen/stream Fever and check out more Kylie Minogue fan favorites here.

  Shortlink to this content: