Shortlink to this content:

Thursday, March 3, 2016 5:24am ET by  
Comments (0)

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Nile Rodgers, Marvin Gaye, Elvis Costello for Songwriters Hall of Fame

Six new members will be inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame in a special ceremony that will take place this summer on June 9.

Nile Rodgers, Marvin Gaye, Tom Petty and Elvis Costello will all be honoured at the event and they were voted in by the organisation's members from a shortlist which included Jimi Hendrix, George Harrison, Blondie, and Madonna. The other two inductees are Bernard Edwards and Chip Taylor. 


Co-chairs Kenneth Gamble and Leon Huff issued a statement on the exciting news, which reads:

"The 2016 roster of Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees is a beautiful mosaic of the best of late 20th Century popular music. With creators of Rock & Roll, Soul/R&B, Country and Funk/ Dance represented, we are looking forward to an unforgettable and extremely exciting event and evening at the Marriott Marquis on June 9th."

They concluded: "With the exception of two (Gaye and Edwards), all of the 2016 inductees are alive and continue to be as vitally creative as ever... We could not be more excited."

Follow us: @Pressparty on Twitter Pressparty on Facebook.

Watch Nile Rodgers talking about the late David Bowie here:


  Shortlink to this content: