Friday, December 10, 2010 11:34am ET by  
Comments (0)


Simon Cowell defends X Factor as finalists solo songs are revealed

Simon Cowell took over the microphone to defend the X Factor’s recent mixed reception in the media at the show’s official press conference.

“In regard to the X Factor and what it does for music, what we’ve done with the Sunday show we’ve opened up to 3 performances sometimes. If you speak to most retailers, they’ll tell you that it’s stimulated people going back in getting interested in music again.”

The finalists solo songs have also been revealed.

Cher will sing 'Impossible' (originally by Shontelle), Matt will perform 'Many Of Horror' (Biffy Clyro), One Direction will take on 'Forever Young' (Alphaville and Jay-Z/Mr Hudson) while Rebecca will tackle 'Distant Dreamer' (Duffy).

Watch Cher Lloyd's performance of 'Nothin' On You' here: