Soundtrack for Focus Features' Romance One Day, Starring Anne Hathaway and Jim Sturgess, Features New Song from Elvis Costello

LOS ANGELES, Aug. 8, 2011 -- On August 16, 2011*, Universal Music Enterprises (UMe) releases digitally the motion picture soundtrack for the new movie One Day, starring Anne Hathaway and Jim Sturgess. The soundtrack One Day features a brand new track written and composed exclusively for the movie by Elvis Costello; titled "Sparkling Day," the song is only available on this soundtrack. Also included is a stellar roster of songs by a diverse group of artists from the last two decades; and plus selections from the original film score by Academy Award winner Rachel Portman (EmmaThe Cider House RulesChocolat).

Twenty years. Two people… To be released by Focus Features in theaters nationwide on Friday, August 19th, 2011, One Daystars Academy Award nominee Anne Hathaway and Jim Sturgess (Across the Universe). Directed by Lone Scherfig (director ofAn Education, Academy Award-nominated for Best Picture), the motion picture One Day is adapted for the screen by David Nicholls from his beloved bestselling novel "One Day." After one day together – July 15th, 1988, their college graduation – Emma Morley (Anne Hathaway) and Dexter Mayhew (Jim Sturgess) begin a friendship that will last a lifetime. She is a working-class girl of principle and ambition who dreams of making the world a better place. He is a wealthy charmer who dreams that the world will be his playground. For the next two decades, key moments of their relationship are experienced over several July 15ths in their lives. Together and apart, we see Dex and Em through their friendship and fights, hopes and missed opportunities, laughter and tears. Somewhere along their journey, these two people realize that what they are searching and hoping for has been there for them all along. As the true meaning of that one day back in 1988 is revealed, they come to terms with the nature of love and life itself.

The music featured on the soundtrack One Day bookmarks moments in Dexter and Emma's lives, mapping out a musical timeline that ties in to the complexity of their ever-evolving relationship.


  1. Sparkling Day - Elvis Costello
  2. Roll To Me - Del Amitri
  3. Aftermath - Tricky
  4. Reverend Black Grape - Black Grape
  5. Born Of Frustration - James
  6. Rocks - Primal Scream (*digital version only)
  7. Praise You - Fatboy Slim
  8. The Rhythm Of The Night - Corona
  9. Angels - Robbie Williams
  10. Life Is A Rollercoaster - Ronan Keating
  11. Sowing The Seeds Of Love - Tears For Fears
  12. Joy - Francois Feldman
  13. Tear Off Your Own Head (It's A Doll Revolution) - Elvis Costello
  14. One Day - main title - Rachel Portman
  15. Wedding Chorus - Rachel Portman
  16. July 15th - Rachel Portman  
  17. We Had Today - Rachel Portman

One Day will be released physically September 6th.

SOURCE Universal Music Enterprises


August 8, 2011 9:42am ET by Newsdesk   Comments (0)

, , , , , ,


Latest Press Releases