Thursday, September 13, 2012 2:35am ET by  
Comments (0)

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Direction, Little Mix, Olly Murs up for Popjustice Music Prize

One Direction, Little Mix and Olly Murs are just some of the acts who have been nominated for the 2012 Popjustice £20 Music Prize.

The annual award features the 12 best singles of the year as chosen by the pop music site and was set up as an alternative to the Mercury Music Prize, whose nominations were also announced yesterday.

The Saturdays, Lawson, Will Young and Rizzle Kicks have also been recognised, as have number ones from Rudimental and Nero and lesser-known tracks from Marina & The Diamonds, Siobhan Dillon and Saint Etienne.

The winners will be announced on the same night as the Mercury Music Prize ceremony on November 1. The full list is as follows:

Lawson - 'Taking Over Me'
Little Mix - 'Wings'
Marina and the Diamonds - 'Power & Control'
Nero - 'Promises'
Olly Murs - 'Heart Skips a Beat'
One Direction - 'What Makes You Beautiful'
Rizzle Kicks - 'Down with the Trumpets'
Rudimental & John Newman - 'Feel the Love'
Saint Etienne - 'Tonight'
Siobhan Dillon - 'Powerless'
The Saturdays - 'All Fired Up'
Will Young - 'Jealousy'


Watch the video for One Direction's nominated 'What Makes You Beautiful' below:


We may earn a commission from products purchased via links featured on our pages