Tuesday, April 30, 2013 4:26pm ET by  
Comments (0)

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Pet Shop Boys announce release of new album 'Electric'

Dance-pop duo Pet Shop Boys have confirmed that their brand new album, 'Electric', is due to be released this summer.

The record will drop on July 15 via their very own x2, which is a partnership with Kobalt Label Services, after leaving Parlophone in 2012 following 28 years of calling that company their home.

'Electric' boasts 8 new Pet Shop Boys songs and also includes a cover of Bruce Springsteen's anti-war track, 'Last To Die'. The album was produced by Stuart Price, known for his work with The Killers and Madonna, and Price describes the record's sound as "various techniques between old school synth and drum machine programming and new school computer mangling."

Hitmaker Example also features on a track called 'Thursday' and the lead single is titled 'Axis'. Pet Shop Boys released a statement on the exciting news today (April 30) that read: "'Electric' is very much set on the dance floor. Our latest album often evolves as a response to our previous album and, whereas 'Elysium' had a reflective mood, 'Electric' is pretty banging!"

The tracklisting and album art are as follows:

1. Axis
2. Bolshy
3. Love is a bourgeois construct
4. Fluorescent
5. Inside a dream
6. The last to die
7. Shouting in the evening
8. Thursday (featuring Example)
9. Vocal





Check out the video for 'Axis' here: