SUSANNA shares new single & video 'Hole'! Album 'Triangle' due April 22nd via SusannaSonata

London show this April! Beautiful visuals to match Susanna's spiritually probing electronic pop as the Norwegian artist shares the third single from new LP!



Photo credit: Anne Valeur  "She's the commander of it all, powerful enough to hold the noise at bay simply by asserting her own existence" - Pitchfork 
Norwegian artist Susanna is sharing new single and video 'Hole' from her forthcoming album 'Triangle', which is set for release on April 22nd via SusannaSonata. 

Susanna's deeply expressive muted electronic pop sounds are more apparent than ever on her new single 'Hole'. Speaking about the track, she said “This song comes from a dark place, and is about the feeling of falling, and the feeling of falling into the dark. Not entirely a negative experience though, as the repeated visits to this mental state can give a certain safety."

Filmed under ground in Oslo, the video for ‘Hole’ was made by Norwegian filmmaker and director Carsten Aniksdal. Susanna explained the thoughts behind the visuals when she said “We wanted to illustrate the existential topic of the song with dance and movements"
Watch 'Hole' here:
Embed code: <iframe width="560" height="315" src="" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Triangle is soul music for lost souls. Susanna’s eleventh album and first solo record since 2012 is a mastodon of a singer/songwriter release -- near 70 minutes of intensely expressive, deeply felt and spiritually probing lyrics, presented and performed in layers of voice, electronics, and effects, programmed with piano, violin and tuba.

The Norwegian artist known for personal interpretations of songs by Joy Division, Leonard Cohen and AC/DC among others but also her strong originals, has dissected her own musical expression, collaborations and projects, including 2014’s ‘Meshes of Voice’ album with Jenny Hval, and put the pieces together again creating a unique and diverse world for her songs.
Triangle re-examines Susanna’s relationship with spirituality, belief and superstition. Throughout, Susanna is in intimate, confessional mode, facing uncertainty and mystery, pondering how much of a place humanity deserves on a faltering planet, while confidently forging her own path and confronting doubt, fear and nihilism with a sense of wonder. Deeply Nordic in its willingness to confront existential darkness head-on, yet with a contemporary sound signature, Triangle is filled with magical omens, apocalyptic fires, black holes and floodwaters that constantly threaten oblivion. Yet among the dark undercurrents, electronic rumbling and white noise is a luminous melodic glow that rises above the introspection.
Recorded in Oslo and Los Angeles, Triangle was composed, arranged, performed, recorded and produced by Susanna. Norwegian musicians, including members of Supersilent, Broen, Moskus, Splashgirl and Sudan Dudan, participated alongside Americans Alison Chesley (Helen Money) and Emmett Kelly (The Cairo Gang).
Throughout the entire album, Susanna’s vocals are even more versatile and fluid, recalling at times Kate Bush, the Laurel Canyon balladry of Joni Mitchell and Laura Nyro, or the acrobatics of the Cocteau Twins’ Liz Fraser. Debut single ‘Burning Sea’ presents the sound of wonder and danger in surrendering; Susanna’s voice is calm and determined in the face of enormous forces and looming fears.
Susanna’s Triangle is out April 22nd on SusannaSonata.
See Susanna live:

16th March - Musikkavdelingen, Trondheim, NO
17th March - Fryd Scene, Ål, NO
19th April – Café Oto, London, UK
20th April - Café Mono, Oslo, NO

'Triangle' artwork:

'Triangle' track list:

1. Holy / Sacred
2. We Don't Belong
3. Texture Within
4. Fear & Terror
5. Before The Altar
6. Hole
7. Shepherd
8. Under Water
9. This / Phenomena
10. For My Sins
11. Burning Sea
12. In The Need Of A Shepherd
13. Born Again
14. Triangle
15. Pyramid
16. Ebb And Flow
17. Decomposing
18. The Fire
19. Sacred Revolution
20. Purple
21. Death Hanging
22. In My Blood 

Preorder ‘Triangle’:
via iTunes
via SusannaSonata         
Susanna Facebook
Susanna Twitter
Susanna WebsiteFor more information please contact / t. +44 7921 176502.

March 29, 2016 7:23am ET by Stereo Sanctity   Comments (0)

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  Shortlink to this content:


Latest Press Releases

We may earn a commission from products purchased via links featured on our pages