Album 'Triangle' due April 22nd via SusannaSonata & London show on April 19th! 

SUSANNA shares new single video 'In The Need Of A Shepherd'! Norwegian artist shares new single of industrial electronic sounds ahead of album release & London show next week!

Photo credit: Anne Valeur/ Signe Fuglesteg Luksengard





In anticipation of Susanna’s album release next week, the Norwegian artist is sharing new video ‘In The Need Of A Shepherd’ from the upcoming record. ‘Triangle’ is set for release April 22nd via SusannaSonata and Susanna is set to play a London show on April 19th at Café Oto.
‘In The Need Of A Shepherd’ is like a modern prayer for guidance, wrapped in an industrial electronic suit this track is pulsating with a bit of madness and beauty; performed, arranged and produced by Fredrik Wallumrød (Susanna’s brother) and Susanna herself. Synths and programmed beats are combined with recordings of birds in Basel, Switzerland, constructing work and sirens from Oslo, Norway and Susanna’s singing. 
Directed by Guri Dahl, the video is a beautiful artistic black and white video that underlines the industrial feel in the song- trains and buildings moving and chasing the blinding of sun. 
Triangle is soul music for lost souls. Susanna’s eleventh album and first solo record since 2012 is a mastodon of a singer/songwriter release -- near 70 minutes of intensely expressive, deeply felt and spiritually probing lyrics, presented and performed in layers of voice, electronics, and effects, programmed with piano, violin and tuba.
The Norwegian artist known for personal interpretations of songs by Joy Division, Leonard Cohen and AC/DC among others but also her strong originals, has dissected her own musical expression, collaborations and projects, including 2014’s ‘Meshes of Voice’ album with Jenny Hval, and put the pieces together again creating a unique and diverse world for her songs.
Triangle re-examines Susanna’s relationship with spirituality, belief and superstition. Throughout, Susanna is in intimate, confessional mode, facing uncertainty and mystery, pondering how much of a place humanity deserves on a faltering planet, while confidently forging her own path and confronting doubt, fear and nihilism with a sense of wonder. Deeply Nordic in its willingness to confront existential darkness head-on, yet with a contemporary sound signature, Triangle is filled with magical omens, apocalyptic fires, black holes and floodwaters that constantly threaten oblivion. Yet among the dark undercurrents, electronic rumbling and white noise is a luminous melodic glow that rises above the introspection.
Recorded in Oslo and Los Angeles, Triangle was composed, arranged, performed, recorded and produced by Susanna. Norwegian musicians, including members of Supersilent, Broen, Moskus, Splashgirl and Sudan Dudan, participated alongside Americans Alison Chesley (Helen Money) and Emmett Kelly (The Cairo Gang).
Throughout the entire album, Susanna’s vocals are even more versatile and fluid, recalling at times Kate Bush, the Laurel Canyon balladry of Joni Mitchell and Laura Nyro, or the acrobatics of the Cocteau Twins’ Liz Fraser. 
Susanna’s Triangle is out April 22nd on SusannaSonata.
See Susanna live: 

19th April – Café Oto, London, UK
20th April - Café Mono, Oslo, NO

'Triangle' artwork:

'Triangle' track list:

1. Holy / Sacred
2. We Don't Belong
3. Texture Within
4. Fear And Terror
5. Before The Altar
6. Hole
7. Shepherd
8. Under Water
9. This / Phenomena
10. For My Sins
11. Burning Sea
12. In The Need Of A Shepherd
13. Born Again
14. Triangle
15. Pyramid
16. Ebb And Flow
17. Decomposing
18. The Fire
19. Sacred Revolution
20. Purple
21. Death Hanging
22. In My Blood 

Preorder ‘Triangle’:
via iTunes
via SusannaSonata        
Susanna Facebook
Susanna Twitter
Susanna WebsiteFor more information please contact / t. +44 7921 176502


Watch the video for 'In The Need of A Shepherd' below:

April 19, 2016 6:06am ET by Stereo Sanctity   Comments (0)

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

  Shortlink to this content:


Latest Press Releases

We may earn a commission from products purchased via links featured on our pages