DOUGLAS DARE announces new album 'Aforger' for Oct 14 release on Erased Tapes

Hear 'Doublethink' now!

London artist Douglas Dare’s 2nd album questions the boundaries between reality & fiction. Inspired by his own recent experiences & revelations, this is Dare at his most vulnerable.


Pictured: Aforger album artwork. Photo credit: Özge Cöne. 
Following his acclaimed debut ‘Whelm’, London-based singer-songwriter and pianist Douglas Darereturns with his sophomore album Aforger on October 14th.
In a digital age, where memories are mimicked by pixels and identity is as malleable as static, Douglas Dare’s new album Aforger questions the boundaries between reality and fiction.
Inspired by recent events and revelations encountered in his life these songs depict Dare at his most vulnerable, whilst simultaneously reflecting our own obsession with reality and technology back at us. 
“The album title plays with the idea of a forger – someone creating imitations or copies, and reimagines them as the creator of something that’s no longer real” he explains. “Prior to writing the record, I came out to my father and came out of a long relationship, both were hugely challenging for me and questioned my idea of identity and reality. These thoughts leaked out into the record and formed the core of Aforger. I was determined not to write a break-up album or repeat what I’d done before.”

Today, he shares a first taste of the record with track Doublethink.
“After finding out my boyfriend had been leading this double-life, I became obsessed with the question of what is real and George Orwell’s 1984 felt appropriate for me to re-read. Orwell explains this idea of reality control and Doublethink, and it struck a chord with me. The idea that truth can be steered or changed, and we might be able to believe two contradictory things at once. In my case, ignorance was my protection from the truth and ignorance really is bliss, until you’re no longer ignorant.”

Listen to & share Doublethink
Aforger was mixed at the iconic Abbey Road Studios and produced by long-time collaborator Fabian Prynn.
Having first toured the world to support of the likes of Ólafur ArnaldsNils Frahm and Fink, followed by European headline tours in 2014 and 2015, this autumn will see Douglas Dare return to the live circuit for a series of select shows in London and beyond. More information to follow.

Aforger track list:
1. Doublethink 
2. Greenhouse 
3. Oh Father 
4. New York 
5. The Edge 
6. Binary 
7. Stranger 
8. Venus 
9. Thinking of Him 
10. Rex


For more information please contact / t. +44 7812 607 230 


July 27, 2016 5:40am ET by Stereo Sanctity   Comments (0)

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  Shortlink to this content:


Latest Press Releases