FRAN LOBO announces new EP & shares lead single "Monster". EP 'Brave' due out June 19th


Stereo Sanctity

- Announces new EP 'Brave' due June 19th via Slow Dance Records
- Shares first single & video "Monster"

London-based artist Fran Lobo has just announced her new EP 'Brave' is set for release June 19th via Slow Dance Records and the first single & video from the record "Monster" is streaming online now. Packed full of intense electronic-pop sounds, the EP is about staying strong in the face of addiction, grief and societal pressures.

Speaking about "Monster" Fran Lobo said "This track started from a jam on a Volca sample I'd bought myself and evolved into an embodiment of frustration with identity, relationships and dreams/reality. The song includes the voices of Deep Throat Choir, LIPS and the Roundhouse Choir and Jemma Freeman on guitar, samples and rare drum machines and synthesisers. It was engineered by Andy Ramsay and mixed by Jimmy Robertson."

And on the visuals, Fran Lobo said "The video is a journey from London to Southern India and back, exploring the displacement and search for identity experienced as a child of the diaspora. It deals with the idea of family, belonging and friendship and in doing so, asks audiences to question their own sense of identity."

Listen to & watch "Monster" here:

Fran Lobo is a singer, songwriter, producer, DJ, choral composer and sound artist from North East London. Inspired by both orchestral music and the London club scene, 'Brave' mixes human sound (choral singing, vocals, clarinet, piano) with machines (drum machines, analogue synthesisers) and sees how the two can weave in and out of one another, subverting expectations of style.
As a choral and music workshop leader, Lobo has been commissioned to work with several prestigious London choirs including conducting the choir for Floating Points‘ sold-out album launch and arranging pieces of original music for all female Deep Throat Choir and LIPS choir in London.

'Brave' is a dramatic nightmare dream about addiction, reclaiming identity and processing grief: employing rare analogue drum machines and synthesizers, field recordings, live band, choirs and orchestral instruments. Recorded between Stereloab’s Andy Ramsay’s studio in South London (King Krule, Mount Kimbie) and Massive Attack’s 3D’s studio in Bristol with Bruno Ellingham. The EP was mixed by Jimmy Robertson and mastered by Christian Wright at Abbey Road.

In her own words, Fran Lobo said "This EP is about staying brave despite having your heart torn apart and the pressure you feel as a woman to keep a brave face and to not break down, or show emotion, or 'be cool' when in fact breaking down and opening up is the answer to everything."

This EP celebrates the triumph at the other end of a storm. It speaks about overcoming addiction, loss and trauma whilst also acknowledging the pressure on women today to be seen as 'Brave' and exploring the beauty of breaking down and rebuilding again rather than being fearful of it. It is an expression of the many sides of being a 'woman' whilst playing with the idea of dream vs. reality...

A collaborator in the bands UNKLE and Deep Throat Choir, and previous shows including supporting Matthew Herbert, Okay Kaya & Reykjavikurdaetur, Fran is set to tour later this year.

Brave EP tracklist:

1. Give Me Something
2. Monster ( video)
3. Brave
4. Not Chasing
5. Burning (It Feels Like)

For more information please contact: / t. +44 7921 176502

March 18, 2020 1:51pm ET by Stereo Sanctity  

, , , , , , , ,

  Shortlink to this content:


Latest Press Releases

We may earn a commission from products purchased via links featured on our pages