Tuesday, September 16, 2014 11:16am ET by  
Comments (0)

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Susan Boyle on new album's cover songs: 'I hope I've done them justice'

Singer Susan Boyle is gearing up to release a brand new album called 'Hope' and has revealed that it includes covers of John Lennon's 'Imagine' and Pink Floyd's 'Wish You Were Here'. 

Speaking to Scotland's Herald newspaper, the star explained that it was a risk to record covers of such iconic songs and she hopes that there isn't any backlash over her decision to include them on her new album's tracklisting:

"I hope I have done them justice in my own way. John Lennon's 'Imagine' was one of the hardest to record, not because of the music or the vocals but because I wanted to do his song justice. Of course the die-hard Lennon fans will probably criticise but I hope that people like my personal take on the song."

Of the album, which is due to be officially released on November 24, Boyle added that she wanted it to be 'inspirational': "I themed this album around inspiration and hope because those are two elements we all need in our life to drive us forward and inspire us to go out and capture our dreams - they worked for me."

The full tracklisting is as follows:

1. Wish You Were Here
2. I Can Only Imagine
3. Angel
4. Abide With Me
5. Imagine
6. Will The Circle Be Unbroken
7. Bridge Over Troubled Water
8. The Impossible Dream
9. Oh Happy Day
10. You Raise Me Up (Featuring Lakewood Church Choir Live)

Follow us: @Pressparty on Twitter Pressparty on Facebook.

Watch a promotional video for Boyle's new record here: