ZAS ft. Bernard Sumner/New Order Shares 'FEAR CITY' LP Via Beats Per Minute

New LP Out Now On All DSP's

Photo Credit: Kevin von Puttkammer / Furusho von Puttkammer


Tell All Your Friends PR

Composer/Producer Zachery Allan Starkey has released a new solo album, FEAR CITY, which features new collaborations with Bernard Sumner of New Order. FEAR CITY sees Starkey combining techno, electro, post-punk, synthwave, disco, and punk to create an urgent, panoramic soundtrack to contemporary New York City, capturing decadent Brooklyn nightlife, current economic collapse, the COVID-19 pandemic, ever increasing political/social chaos, and the opiate epidemic over 14 diverse and beautifully produced tracks.

FEAR CITY follows the internationally acclaimed release of four ZAS singles, the ominous and prophetic “No Security”, symphonic techno odyssey “XXX”, anthemic club track “Force (ft. Bernard Sumner), and the darkly powerful “Fear City (ft. Bernard Sumner)”, all of which saw critics comparing Starkey’s new work to electronic music pioneers Giorgio Moroder and Patrick Cowley.

Taking the title from a 1970’s nickname for New York City, Starkey’s FEAR CITY is an album firmly about the present and looking towards an increasingly dystopian future. The depth of Starkey’s vision and songwriting for this project has resulted in new collaborations with Bernard Sumner, the leader of pioneering electronic band New Order, and founding member of Joy Division. Inspired by Starkey’s songwriting, Sumner provides synthesizers, guitars, drum programming, and production on two key Starkey songs, the anthemic club track “Force”, and the darkly powerful title track, “Fear City”.

Starkey’s “Force” and “Fear City” also mark the first brand new studio recordings from Sumner since the release of New Order's 2015 LP, Music Complete. Starkey opened for New Order during the Music Complete tour.

On working with Zachery Allan Starkey, Bernard Sumner says:

“Like me, Zachery originates from a post industrial landscape of urban decay and forgotten people, which once thrived and brought great wealth to both our nations. In my case in Manchester, England, the favour has not been forgotten, and it is now a thriving City again.
In Zachery's case, the industrial heartland of America still sleeps, waiting for the men who reaped the profits to remember the people they left behind.

Zachery’s passion for creating music led him to buy a one way train ticket to New York City, leaving behind the working class existence he grew up in Columbus, Ohio. He arrived in NYC with no job or connections. Ten years later, he’s ensconced and well known in the music and club scene in Brooklyn, which plays a large part in his life. Zachery independently releases his own records, and is dedicated to songwriting and club music in his own way.

I feel a kinship with Zachery. He’s at the start of his journey. I wish him luck, he deserves it. His music is his lifeline.”

On the FEAR CITY album, Starkey says:

“Fear will not tear us apart. I spent the past two years working on FEAR CITY. What started as an album about the intersection NYC nightlife and worsening economic situation for working people (especially those living in the margins and grey areas) has evolved into a real time document of urban fear and chaos in NYC, as we deal with the fallout of the COVID-19 pandemic. The album has continued to evolve right up to its release at the end of April 2020, hence the title of the final track, “Future Shock”. While I composed the music for the album myself and played all of the instruments, it’s been a great privilege to collaborate with Bernard Sumner of New Order on ‘Force’ and ‘Fear City’. In my music, I always seek to confront and deal with uncomfortable aspects of the present. I insist on moving forward and living life on my own terms. I refuse to give up. I hope FEAR CITY will encourage the listener to do the same, and to dance while doing so. Do you give up, or do you fight?”

FEAR CITY is released on Starkey’s own label, Deathtrip NYC, with artwork designed by PJ Ong of Inodoro™. FEAR CITY was composed, performed, and produced by Zachery Allan Starkey, engineered by Abe Seiferth, and mastered by Jon Chinn. FEAR CITY is released on April 30th, 2020, via Starkey’s own label, Deathtrip NYC, with artwork designed by PJ Ong of Inodoro™. Starkey also directed the music videos for FEAR CITY in collaboration with William Murray and Furusho von Puttkammer.

01. City Overture
02. XXX
03. No Security
04. Force (ft. Bernard Sumner)
05. Fallout
06. “Bright Future”
07. Coked Up Biker Anthem
08. NeoLiberal
09. Opiate
10. Fear City (ft. Bernard Sumner)
11. Love Does Not Win
12. Empire
13. COVID-19
14. Future Shock


Zachery Allan Starkey is a New York City based Composer/Musician/Producer who uses analogue synthesizers and electronics to craft dark, melodic, and heavily emotional dance floor journeys. Starkey garners the influences of Techno, Electro, House, Post-Punk, Italo Disco, SynthPunk, and HI-NRG, pulling elements from this spectrum to create his own unique sound of self-expression. He has released his music both as Zachery Allan Starkey and as ZGRT.

Starkey is currently readying the release of his new solo album, FEAR CITY. Composed, performed, produced and arranged entirely by Starkey himself, FEAR CITY also sees Starkey collaborating with one of the pioneers of electronic music: Bernard Sumner of New Order / Joy Division, who provides synthesizers, guitars, drum programming, and additional production on two key tracks. FEAR CITY is set for release in early 2020.

Starkey’s 2017 release, the critically acclaimed HARD POWER album, saw him opening for the legendary New Order on their Music Complete Tour, which included spectacular sold out shows at Manhattan's Radio City Music Hall. Starkey produced the lead ZGRT single "HARD POWER" with Gavilán Rayna Russom, the groundbreaking synthesist of LCD Soundsystem and Black Meteoric Star.

Some of Starkey’s previous accomplishments include the ZGRT single "CONNECTION”, an uplifting, House inspired ode to finding solace in solitude that received a glowing review in PASTE Magazine. Next came release of the third ZGRT single, via Post-Punk Online, the dark, dirty throbbing HI-NRG meets Synthwave powered "BLACK ANGEL", which was followed by the 4th ZGRT single, industrial inspired "GAME OVER”.

In 2016, Starkey released the sleazy Deep House anthem COME INSIDE EP on the Italo/Deep House imprint Three Hands Records. Starkey’s music career in New York began in 2013 with the release of his heartbreaking dance single, "Into the Sun," which became a club favorite from Brooklyn to Los Angeles. His follow up 2013 singles, "We’re All Fucked!" and "Rats," saw Starkey accurately predicted the current global political situation. The singles were followed by the release of the buzz creating full length album, DIY.

On the DJ front, working with influential New York producers Lauren Flax and Gavilán Rayna Russom, Starkey co-founded and produced C//TY CLUB, one of NYC's most respected and eclectic club nights, as well as releasing several earlier ZAS / ZGRT singles and albums on his own label, Death Trip NYC. Starkey often accompanies his single releases with beautiful music videos, which films and directs in New York City with visual collaborator William Murray. For live performances, Starkey is often supported by his longtime live keyboardist Laura Holden, as well as musicians Ruby Z. Wang, Genevieve Kimmel Morris, and Frank Piccirillo.

May 1, 2020 9:19am ET by Pressparty  

, , , ,

  Shortlink to this content:


Latest Press Releases