MP Caroline Lucas tops the 2020 Woman’s Hour Power List: Our Planet

Caroline Lucas, the Green Party’s sole MP, has topped this year’s Woman’s Hour Power List which celebrates the significant positive contributions women are making to the environment and the sustainability of our planet

These 30 remarkable women from around the UK have made protecting our planet their personal priority. They’re the decision makers, innovators, communicators, campaigners and volunteers who’ve made a conscious choice to care for our environment and find more sustainable ways to live"


BBC Radio 4

The list will be revealed live by Jane Garvey on Woman’s Hour on 16 November from 10am.

The top five women on the 30-women list are Caroline Lucas MP, environmental lawyer Farhana Yamin, clean air campaigner Rosamund Kissi-Debrah, young birder and environmentalist Mya-Rose Craig otherwise known as Birdgirl, and Sophie Howe, the Future Generations Commissioner for Wales.

This year’s panel was led by Head Judge, journalist Lucy Siegle. She was joined by horticulturalist and presenter Flo Headlam; Alice Larkin, Professor of Climate Science and Energy Policy at the University of Manchester; Zunaira Malik, who works for the UK environmental education charity Action for Conservation and Chair of the Environment Agency Emma Howard Boyd.

Karen Dalziel, editor of Woman’s Hour, says: “These 30 remarkable women from around the UK have made protecting our planet their personal priority. They’re the decision makers, innovators, communicators, campaigners and volunteers who’ve made a conscious choice to care for our environment and find more sustainable ways to live. However it’s not just the work they’re doing that sets them apart, it’s the scale of their passion, dedication and determination to bring about lasting charge that is so inspiring. We’re delighted to be celebrating them in this year’s Power List.”

Caroline Lucas
Lucy Siegle says: “The judges recognised that Caroline is the politician of our generation who almost uniquely uses environmental logic to make her decisions. She is able to explain scientific evidence in clear and impactful terms, is creative on policy and very alive to ideas, fearless in holding power to account and has unparalleled experience. Immediately recognisable as a key moderniser of the green movement (she was elected to the Green Party in 1999) – she is one of just a few recognised and trusted voices on the environment. As judges we felt that as the dual crisis in nature and climate becomes ever more immediate, her influence, expertise and experience should see her already extensive influence continue to grow.”

Farhana Yamin
Zunaira Malik says: “Farhana is a powerhouse for climate justice. She has had a huge amount of influence at all levels – from international climate negotiations and representing small island nations as an environmental lawyer, to galvanising community action here in the UK. She believes in the power of regular people to bring about change and is a real power woman for the movement!”

Rosamund Kissi-Debrah
Flo Headlam says: “We have chosen Rosamund for the extraordinary trajectory her campaigning has taken since the tragic loss of her daughter Ella, who died in 2013 as a direct result of air pollution. She has used her energy and power as an impassioned grassroots campaigner to take the fight for cleaner air from the local community all the way to the World Health Organisation, where she works tirelessly to improve the air for all of us.”
The full list as revealed on today’s programme is:

Caroline Lucas (Member of Parliament)
Farhana Yamin (Environmental Lawyer)
Rosamund Kissi-Debrah (Clean Air Campaigner)
Mya-Rose Craig (Birder and Environmentalist)
Sophie Howe (Future Generations Commissioner for Wales)
Ella Daish (Plastic-free Period Campaigner)
Joanna Haigh (Physicist and Climate Change Researcher)
Rebecca Speight (CEO of the RSPB)
Minette Batters (President of the National Farmers Union)
Carolyn Cobbold (Co-founder of the Manhood Peninsula Partnership)

Gail Bradbrook (Co-founder of Extinction Rebellion)
Judy Ling Wong (Honorary President, Black Environment Network)
Franny Armstrong (Film Director)
Brenda Boardman (Domestic Energy Efficiency Researcher)
Diane Gilpin (CEO of Smart Green Shipping)
Caroline Mason (CEO of Esmee Fairbairn Foundation)
Miranda Lowe (Curator at Natural History Museum)
Zarina Ahmad (Climate Change Trainer at CEMVO Scotland )
Holly Gillibrand (Youth Climate Activist)
Amanda Absalom-Lowe (Pembrokeshire Care, Share and Give)

Catherine Howarth (CEO of ShareAction)
Rebecca Willis (Expert Lead to Climate Assembly UK )
Kate Humble (Wildlife TV Presenter)
Fiona Harvey (Environmental Journalist)
Judith Webb (Volunteer Ecologist and Conservationist)
Yvonne Witter (Chair of the Peak District Mosaic Club)
Mikaela Loach (Climate Justice Influencer and Podcaster)
Safia Minney (Founder of People Tree)
Mandi Roberts (Hedgehog Rescue Volunteer)
Christine Grosart (Ghost Fishing UK)
More detail on the Woman’s Hour Power List can be found at:

The Woman’s Hour Power List launched in 2013 and featured the 100 most powerful women in the UK, covering women working in traditional power structures – politics, the law, big business – and was headed by the Queen. In 2014 the list focused on ten ‘Game Changers’ with Baroness Doreen Lawrence in first place. In 2015 the theme was ‘The Power to Influence’ with Scotland’s First Minister Nicola Sturgeon heading the list. The fourth Power List in 2016 celebrated the seven women who had made the biggest impact on women’s lives over the past seven decades, as part of Woman’s Hour 70th anniversary celebrations, with Margaret Thatcher topping the list. In 2018 the Power List championed Women in Music with Beyoncé at the top of the list.

Woman’s Hour broadcasts on BBC Radio 4 at 10am Mondays-Fridays, and 4pm on Saturdays. The daily podcast can be downloaded from BBC Sounds.

Source BBC Radio 4

November 16, 2020 5:45am ET by BBC Radio 4  

, ,

  Shortlink to this content:


Latest Press Releases