Falcon Publicity

Poolside, the recording project of producer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Jeffrey Paradise, releases his new album 'Blame It All On Love' today, October 20, via Ninja Tune imprint Counter Records.

"I've spent 15 years being like, 'fuck your rules,' and I finally feel like I'm not trying to prove anything or anyone wrong,” Paradise says. "It's just pure, unfiltered expression, and that's why I'm really excited about this record."

On Poolside's fourth studio album 'Blame It All On Love,' Paradise leaves the shallows and enters the depths of his own creative voice. Its 11 tracks are funky, soulful, laidback and full of hooks that elevate Poolside's sound to poignant pop heights. Rather than flex his electronic muscles, the production marks a return to his live music roots and finds ease in simple and radiant layers of sound, even as it comes face-to-face with the complex reality of one's dreams come true. It's a true product of everywhere he's been and the long and winding journey he's taken to arrive at this moment where there's nothing left to fight or prove, just perfect grooves.

From the seductive swing of opener "Ride With You" written with Cut Copy's Ben Browning to synth-laden sing-alongs of "Moonlight" and "Ventura Highway Blues" featuring Life On Planets, the half-time emotional grandeur of lead single "Each Night" with Mazy, and the retro-drenched lofi ballads "Lonely Night" with Munya and "Hold On To You" with Slenderbodies, Blame It All On Love incorporates all the sweet things that make a straight-up, easy to love song and blends it with romantic melancholy.

Following the announcement of his signing with Counter Records in May, Poolside first released "Each Night," which Billboard stated "…evokes the maximalist bliss of 'Good Vibrations' era Beach Boys with a lush layer of slow-rolling synth that washes over your ears like a warm bath, or perhaps a well-heated pool." Since then, Poolside continued to roll out various songs and videos from the album, in between major festival plays at Lollapalooza, Outside Lands, FORMAT, Austin City Limits and tour dates around the southeast. Next up on the touring front, Poolside heads to Mexico for Tropico Festival. Joining Poolside’s Jeffrey Paradise--who can be found on guitar / vocals / synths in the live sets--is Vito Roccoforte (The Rapture / Body Music) on drums, Mattie Safer (The Rapture / Lovetempo) on bass / vocals, Casey Butler (Pharaohs) on saxophone / lap steel / percussion / vocals and Alton San Giovanni (Alton Allen) – guitar / vocals. Look for more shows from Poolside to come in 2024.

What's being said about Poolside and 'Blame It All On Love'…

"All of a sudden, it was as if 'daytime disco' — with its seamless incorporation of classic disco, smoothed out yacht rock, tropicalia, and unyielding supply of easy-to-mix beats — had been there for us all along." – KCRW

"… love letter to yacht rock… " – FLOOD

"… breezy, lighthearted and just dreamy with a great beat." – MXDWN

"A decade since putting out its 2012 debut album Pacific Standard Time of 'daytime disco' tunes, Poolside has graduated from performing at hip backyard parties to the main stage… But even after all these years, the outfit's music remains resolutely mellow, with frontman and former San Francisco resident Jeffrey Paradise's delicate voice skimming through the synthesizer swishes and slap-bass rhythms." – San Francisco Chronicle

"These Los Angeles 'daytime disco' godfathers have been keeping us cool for a little over a decade now, thanks to their idiosyncratic slowing of classic dance sounds into a breezy, undeniably modern, oft-emulated blend." - KUTX

"An unusual talent in club culture, his slowed down, super-immersive take on disco's outermost environs has found a cult audience, crafting neo-psychedelic soundscapes that refuse to abandon their percussive kick." – Clash

"If you were itching for more music from Poolside then get ready for the beginnings of a downpour… " – Grimy Goods

Listen to 'Blame It All On Love' here: https://poolside.lnk.to/biaolPR

Upcoming Poolside Tour Dates:

DEC 8-10 – Acapulco, MX – Tropico Festival
APR 4-8 – Cancún, MX – One Big Holiday

'Blame It All On Love' Tracklist:

  1. Ride With You (ft. Ben Browning)
  2. Float Away (ft. Vansire)
  3. Back To Life (with Panama)
  4. Moonlight
  5. Where Is The Thunder? (ft. Ora The Molecule)
  6. Each Night (with Mazy)
  7. We Could Be Falling In Love
  8. Ventura Highway Blues (ft. Life On Planets)
  9. Hold Onto You (ft. Slenderbodies)
  10. Sea Of Dreams (ft. Ben Browning)
  11. Lonely Night (with Munya)


About Poolside:

Poolside is the recording project of producer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Jeffrey Paradise. In 2011 Poolside set out to produce appropriately chill music for summer soirees, a light but danceable kind of music with sunny vibes and liquid rhythm that he dubbed “Daytime Disco.” Since then, Poolside has released three acclaimed albums – Pacific Standard Time (2012), Heat (2017) and Low Season (2020) – remixed countless high-profile acts such as Billy Idol, Jack Johnson & Milky Chance, DRAMA, Miami Horror, L'impératrice, Purple Disco Machine, Big Wild and more. Poolside has also recently collaborated with Todd Edwards, Neil Frances, Brijean and Buscabulla. Poolside’s seven-piece live band has supported Kacey Musgraves, Earth, Wind & Fire and Tycho along with performing at major music festivals including Coachella, Primavera, Outside Lands and Corona Capital. Poolside’s cover of Neil Young’s classic “Harvest Moon” - which they made a one-of-a-kind 12-inch just for James Murphy (LCD Soundsystem) and halted the pressing of the album to include in on their debut album Pacific Standard Time – has been streamed over 100M times.

Follow Poolside

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/poolside/?hl=en
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/poolside/?locale=en_GB
Twitter: https://x.com/poolside?s=20
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCka2GfVhKdJWaPTk2hlgEaA
TikTok: https://www.tiktok.com/@poolside

October 20, 2023 2:25pm ET by Falcon Publicity  

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

  Shortlink to this content: https://bit.ly/45CRA6E


Latest Press Releases