Composer & Musician Louis Giannamore new single “BUSKERS” releasing October18

on all download and streaming platforms

'WORLD TOUR!' album out December 15


Matrix Promotions

Electronic music maestro and prolific composer Louis Giannamore is set to release his new album ‘World Tour!’: an album written and produced using found sounds and field recordings from around the globe whilst on tour as a session musician during 2022. The sounds used on the album, the majority of which are iPhone recordings, were captured all within the same year; the year Louis embarked on his biggest touring schedule to-date, seizing the opportunity to create this album which is set to land on December 15. The second track, Seat 5F, will follow in November, and the focus tracks from the album release are Casinos and Barrowlands Soundcheck.

As a child, Louis was shy but energetic; born into a French and American family he grew up in the south of England, in London and Surrey. While his parents were music lovers, he was the only family member who found music to be his passion and expression. At a young age, before music came knocking, he had a deep interest in painting until he picked up his first instrument at 6 years old; the violin. That cloud eventually passed over and then it was the trumpet. It wasn’t until he was 9 that he picked up his first pair of drumsticks - essentially kick-starting his career. At 11 his mother admitted him to therapy to help develop his social skills. His older sibling had mental disabilities, making ‘brotherly-bonding’ difficult and so Louis’ outlet for his pent up energy was music and for hours he would play drums along to music alone.

Louis attended the prestigious Berklee College of Music straight after school and studied drums with the legendary Dave Dicenso. It was during those two years in Boston he found a new drive and love for electronic music and film scoring. He returned to London and began work as a session drummer and composer. His first short ‘Smiley Face’, premiered at the British Urban Film Festival (2020) and then ‘Fat Boy’ at FIFF London for ‘Best Dark Comedy’ (2021). Louis also toured with legendary Australian band Gang Of Youths as a session musician for percussion and keys (filling-in on drums briefly whilst their drummer went home for the birth of his first child) across North America, Europe and Australasia. For the summer festival season of 2023, he branched out even further genre-wise and played drums for Loathe across Europe whilst busily also wrapping up the score for upcoming feature film ‘Topper’, selectively premiering at Newport Film Festival (TBA). Earlier that year, he attended SXSW in Austin, Texas for the premiere of ‘Vibrator Girl’ of which he scored, whilst also playing official showcases with London-based band, Voka Gentle. Further acts he’s worked with include Master Peace, Love Is Noise, Col3trane and Kinn.

In 2022, Louis combined forces with viola-player Jenny Ames (Floating Points, Bjork, Mica Levi), releasing an album under the pseudonym ‘Barker Deer’ through First Light Records. It was a dense and rich journey through swirling strings, thunderous drums and grand synths which Louis considers his proudest release until now. Other more personal releases include ‘Isolation Recordings,’ a two-part album for charity, recorded a year apart in the confusing midst of Covid-19, featuring raw and gritty drums with deep, oozing synths layered above.

‘World Tour!’ is Louis’ biggest musical statement to date. The album is an audible swimming pool; the further in you go, the wetter you get. It is an ocean that houses hundreds of sounds from all corners of the globe; street performers, buskers, sirens, horns, bird calls, crosswalks, wind, waves, thunderstorms, parades, construction sites, crickets, faucets, door hinges, church bells, bicycles, slot machines, etc. ‘World Tour!’ highlights the beauty and authenticity of each sound and is an homage to the importance of ‘sound’ itself. Louis explores the emotional context of sound and the importance of our hearing.

The album doesn’t just prove how varying sounds from conflicting or opposing environments can create a moving or exciting piece of music, it is also a magnification of life as a touring musician, from glamorous to gruelling. The addictive lifestyle of excitedly stepping off a plane in a foreign and unfamiliar place to the crawling sensation of fatigue from constantly being ‘in-transit’. ‘World Tour!’ explores the themes and emotions of the everyday social overload, the endless sound-checks, the piling of wristbands and passes, the losing of luggage, the rocking of a tour bus and all the other by-products that come with being a modern-day, working musician. Each song on the album tells this tale and is emotively specific to the many moods of this unique profession.

There was no time to spare; in the thick of the busy touring schedule, Louis not only spent the creative and writing process on planes and in hotel rooms but furthermore, he had to first ‘get’ the sounds! Some places visited were rich in sonic qualities and some not. Like a wilderness explorer, the sounds on the album were to be searched-for, hunted and captured, with a tally of 400+ individually recorded sound samples making it onto the final product. It was carved into stone since the birth of the first recorded sample for the album - it is, and will only be, audio and no artificial or electronic sounds used.

‘World Tour!’ is an insight to Louis’ advocative beliefs regarding music and sound; there are no limits, no borders or barriers and no gatekeeping - it requires a little open-mindedness and from there, anything is music, even silence. Bernie Krause, ecologist, expresses that his favourite music over the span of his legendary career is nature. The same is said by iconic producer, Timbaland. ‘World Tour!’ is the personification of those beliefs but with the dial cranked to one hundred. Music is sound and sound is music - they are the two lovers that glide across the ballroom floor in perfect sync and harmony. While this album may attract a certain audience, it is the story and concept which hopes to inspire and provoke thought.

Album track listing:

  1. Buskers
  2. Barrowlands Soundcheck
  3. Church Bells
  4. The Engine of Chaos
  5. Where Are We?
  6. Casinos
  7. Jetlag
  8. Seat 5F
  9. Dumb Rave (Album Exclusive Track)

October 18, 2023 7:23am ET by Matrix Promotions  

, , , , ,

  Shortlink to this content:


Latest Press Releases