Lily Taylor Awarded For Best Experimental Act at The Dallas Entertainment Awards 2024


Olivia Long PR

Dallas-based vocalist and experimental-pop chanteuse Lily Taylor is excited to announce her anticipated new album Amphora on collectors' vinyl and cassette and has been awarded Best Experimental Act by the Dallas Entertainment Awards 2024. Her latest release is a stunning musical journey that is sure to captivate listeners with its mix of avant-pop, ambient pop, and experimental sounds.

Lily Taylor shares the album's first single "J&J" and its accompanying video, which was directed by Sean Miller. The song debuted at The Week In Pop, now on all streaming platforms for any playlist shares, and is also available on collectors' vinyl and cassette format on bandcamp.

On the song and video Lily Taylor says: "Using a looping pedal, keyboard and my voice, I created a sonic bed that I could draw out a melody. Improvising can capture something powerful, something that seems beyond your being, intertwined with internal music knowledge and experience. I can only hope for those moments when I can capture the idea into a physical song through this dream-realm process. Inspiration can be a tricky thing. I was interested in using my voice as a texture in the song as well as the lead vocal track, and thinking about my voice in extended ways, as storyteller and instrument.

"I was inspired by the idea of a vessel as an object and as a metaphor. How artists channel and organize ideas, how we express and package them, how those ideas, sounds, and lines we create bend, morph, and sometimes break. I am the vessel, as well as the song."

Amphora takes its name from the Ancient Greek vessel, the amphora, which served as a container for precious liquids. In this case, Lily Taylor is the vessel, delivering a musical experience that is both powerful and delicate. The themes of duality, time, and introspection run throughout the album, creating a deeply personal and introspective atmosphere.
Recorded at Elmwood Recording in Oak Cliff, Amphora was produced by producers, Black Taffy, Lily Taylor herself and Alex Bhore. The track-listing includes ten original songs, each one a masterpiece in its own right.

Lily Taylor is no stranger to the music scene in Dallas, TX, where she has collaborated with various musicians, performance artists, poets, dancers, artists, and designers, as well as booked local line ups for various venues around DFW. Her captivating vocals and performances create a unique and immersive experience for listeners. Taylor continues to teach private voice lessons and hosts a radio show called BandWidthTX on 92.9FM KUZU LP Denton, Texas, and was recently named Best Experimental Act by the Dallas Entertainment Awards.

Lily Taylor was born in Boston, Massachusetts. She received her Bachelor of Arts in Performance and Composition of Contemporary Music from College of Santa Fe in New Mexico in 2004, with a focus on vocal studies. After many years working as a professional musician, arts administrator, and private teacher in Santa Fe, New Mexico and San Francisco, California, Taylor released her critically acclaimed solo album The Ride in 2014 while residing in Dallas, Texas.

Amphora Track List

  1. J&J
  2. Slow
  3. O This
  4. Cliff
  5. Giant Seals
  6. Ever New
  7. Kepler Wells
  8. My Baby
  9. Thread
  10. Peace There

March 8, 2024 3:00am ET by Olivia Long PR  

, , , , , , ,

  Shortlink to this content:


Latest Press Releases

We may earn a commission from products purchased via links featured on our pages