Republic Records

New York, NY (January 18, 2019) Grammy nominee and Mercury Prize winner James Blake releases his highly-anticipated fourth studio album Assume Form today via Republic Records. The album is Blake’s most unguarded and accessible to date; selecting it as their “Critic’s Pick,” The New York Times observes, “with ‘Assume Form,’ Blake wants to get closer. His previous albums were suffused with loneliness; this one tentatively and almost incredulously, ponders intimacy.” Throughout Assume Form, Blake showcases his evolution not only as a solo artist but as one of the music industry’s most groundbreaking collaborators, working alongside Travis Scott, André 3000, Metro Boomin, Moses Sumney and ROSALÍA (see below for full track listing). Assume Form is available now via https://jamesblake.lnk.to/AssumeFormPR.

Blake previewed Assume Form yesterday, offering two different takes on love through the pulsing “Mile High (ft. Travis Scott & Metro Boomin)” and hauntingly beautiful “Lullaby For My Insomniac.” Assume Form has already received rave reviews, with Consequence of Sound proclaiming, “Assume Form is a remarkable achievement by one of the most original songwriters of his generation,” and Stereogum declaring, “with each successive album, Blake has gotten closer and closer to the definition he has so clearly craved, and with Assume Form he’s declaring that he’s finally found it. And while that definition might flicker in and out from day to day, Blake has found his final configuration in another, and it sounds glorious.”

Assume Form follows Blake’s three critically-acclaimed albums, 2010’s James Blake, 2013’s Mercury Prize-winning Overgrown, and 2016’s The Colour in Anything. Throughout his career, Blake has won an Ivor Novello award for Best Contemporary Song for “Retrograde,” garnered four Grammy nominations, including Best New Artist, and has played sold-out stages around the world including Radio City Music Hall, the Sydney Opera House and Glastonbury Festival. In addition to his massive success as a solo artist, Blake has quickly become one of the most influential collaborators in the music industry, working with everyone from Beyoncé and Frank Ocean to Jay Z, Oneohtrix Point Never, and Mount Kimbie, among countless others. In the past year alone, Blake co-wrote “Element” on Kendrick Lamar’s DAMN., later joining Lamar on tour, collaborated on the record-breaking Black Panther soundtrack, and made his debut on the MTV Music Video Awards alongside Travis Scott performing “Stop Trying To Be God.”

Blake will tour North America in support of Assume Form beginning February 18th, making stops in major cities including Boston, Chicago, and 2 nights in NYC before wrapping in Los Angeles on March 16th (see full list of dates below). Tickets are available now via http://www.jamesblakemusic.com/.

Assume Form Track List
1. Assume Form
2. Mile High (Ft. Travis Scott & Metro Boomin)
3. Tell Them (Ft. Moses Sumney & Metro Boomin)
4. Into The Red
5. Barefoot In The Park (Ft. ROSALÍA)
6. Can’t Believe The Way We Flow
7. Are You In Love?
8. Where’s The Catch? (Ft. André 3000)
9. I’ll Come Too
10. Power On
11. Don’t Miss It
12. Lullaby For My Insomniac

February 18 Atlanta, GA Tabernacle
February 20 Boston, MA House of Blues
February 21 Washington, DC The Anthem
February 22 Philadelphia, PA The Fillmore
February 24 New York, NY Terminal 5
February 25 New York, NY Terminal 5
February 27 Toronto, ON Sony Centre for the Performing Arts
February 28 Montreal, QC L’Olympia
March 2 Royal Oak, MI Royal Oak Music Theatre
March 3 Chicago, IL Riviera Theater
March 4 Saint Paul, MN Palace Theatre
March 8 Portland, OR Roseland Theater
March 9 Vancouver, BC Harbour Convention Centre
March 10 Seattle, WA Moore Theatre
March 12 Oakland, CA Fox Theater
March 15 Pomona, CA Fox Theater
March 16 Los Angeles, CA Hollywood Palladium

January 18, 2019 7:14am ET by Republic Records  


  Shortlink to this content: http://bit.ly/2HhuDzK


Latest Press Releases