SCAN: Iggy Pop to receive the 2022 Polar Music Prize



Legendary godfather of punk and BMG writer, Iggy Pop, alongside the Paris-based Ensemble intercontemporain, has been announced as the recipient of the 2022 Polar Music Prize, in what marks the 30th year of the prize. The awards ceremony is set to take place on May 24, 2022, in Stockholm.

The Polar Music Prize, renowned as music’s most prestigious honor, returns in 2022, its 30th anniversary, the first recipient being Paul McCartney in 1992. The Prize celebrates all genres of music and each year honors two Laureates, one representing popular music and one from the classical field.

Marie Ledin, managing director of the Polar Music Prize, said: "We are delighted to return in 2022, after a two year absence due to the pandemic, with two incredibly worthy Laureates. Iggy Pop is unique, there is no one else quite like him. Ensemble intercontemporain are a ground-breaking collective and their work has helped push the boundaries of modern classical music. We’re thrilled that we can come together to honor and celebrate the important work of both of these Laureates."

On being awarded the Polar Music Prize, Iggy Pop said: "I was aware of the very fine range of people that had gotten the Polar Music Prize… so it’s a nice step for me. I respect it and I’m honored by it… I’m looking forward to coming to Stockholm in May to receive the Prize."

Iggy Pop, punk pioneer and one of the world’s most influential musicians, has continued to innovate, agitate, and inspire across five decades. He is the powerhouse behind some of the greatest live performances in Rock ‘n’ Roll history and has a back catalogue of untouchable class, both as a solo artist and as frontman of The Stooges. His singular voice, aura and attitude have helped to light fires that blazed trails across the worlds of punk, grunge, and generations of alternative music.

His influence is cited by some of the most renowned names in the industry. Alice Cooper praised Iggy Pop as "a force of nature". Acts including The Sex Pistols, Nirvana, The Smiths, Depeche Mode, Nine Inch Nails, Queens Of The Stone Age, Joy Division and Siouxsie Sioux have all taken cues from Pop. Even pop acts have cited his influence, with Miley Cyrus saying in a 2020 feature with Interview Magazine that "people ask me who I’ve studied for my movement on stage, and I always say Iggy Pop." He is a true icon whose timeless work and rarefied talent continues to push boundaries and inspire.

BMG is the proud publisher of much of Iggy Pop’s works including 'The Passenger' (1977).

The Polar Music Prize Award Committee is an independent 11-member board which selects the Laureates. It receives nominations from the public as well as from the International Music Council, the UNESCO founded NGO which promotes geographical and musical diversity. Laureates include Bruce Springsteen, Pink Floyd, Chuck Berry, Ennio Morricone, Bjork, Led Zeppelin, Patti Smith, Stevie Wonder, Paul Simon, Joni Mitchell, Elton John, Metallica, and many more.

Source BMG

February 8, 2022 9:00am ET by Pressparty  

  Shortlink to this content:


Latest Press Releases