IDLES & Jade Bird Lead AIM Independent Music Awards Nominations For 2019


Name PR

Blondie’s Debbie Harry To Receive Outstanding Contribution To Music Award

● Georgia revealed for first-ever live show line-up
● Public voting open for Best Live Act:
● Largest ever number of submissions

London, 24 July 2019:- Following the biggest-ever influx of nominations, the AIM Independent Music Awards has unveiled this year’s shortlist, with post-punk rockers IDLES and blues-pop singer-songwriter Jade Bird leading the way with four and three nominations respectively. Meanwhile, FKA Twigs, Christine and the Queens, Little Simz, Dave, Maribou State, Georgia and Fontaines D.C. are in the running for two gongs each.

The first-ever nominees for “One To Watch” have also been announced, a brand new category for 2019. In association with BBC Music Introducing, which supports unsigned, undiscovered and under-the-radar music across the UK, “One to Watch” champions fast-rising grassroots independent artists. Nominees include Arlo Parks, Barney Artist, Georgia, KOKOROKO and Larkins. Find out more about this year's exciting shortlist and expert panel of judges below.

Today also sees the announcement of the coveted Outstanding Contribution to Music award winner — Blondie frontwoman Debbie Harry — who will pick up her award at The Roundhouse-based ceremony on 3 September. Famed for her sharp lyrics and inimitable style, Harry emerged from the ‘70s New York downtown music scene, performing with Blondie alongside everyone from the Ramones, Television, Talking Heads, Iggy Pop and David Bowie.

She has written and performed songs that defined an age, selling over 40 million albums, right the way to 2017’s acclaimed Blondie album ‘Pollinator’. With all the grit, grime and glory recounted in intimate detail in her forthcoming memoir ‘FACE IT’, released in October, this is the perfect time to celebrate a true one-off, independent artist.

“Blondie emerged from a scene that was truly independent and we have never lost that ethos,” says Debbie Harry, “We always fought for the freedom to create what we wanted, without interference. It is an honour to receive this award from a community that helps make that happen every day for artists.”

The AIM Independent Music Awards has also announced breakthrough electro-pop star Georgia for its first-ever live show. Attracting major attention after the release of her 2015 self-titled debut, Georgia will be fresh from her spell-binding Glastonbury performance, where she delivered an animated performance across the Park stage filled with 80s-club energy and pop nostalgia.

To top this all off, voting is now also open for “Best Live Act”, in association with Songkick. The award, which will be decided by the public vote, pays tribute to the most exhilarating live shows delivered by independent artists from across the world, with previous winners including Erasure, Counterfeit and Babymetal. Over 12,000 votes have been received so far, responses must be made by 31 July here.

With less than two months to go until the awards show, tickets to the ceremony and live show are running out fast. Gold tables are now sold out, with only a limited number of tables remaining.

AIM CEO Paul Pacifico said “It’s great to see the diversity among this year’s nominees, which is a testament to the huge range of quality independent music being produced in 2019. We’re looking forward to honouring established artists like Debbie Harry, and relishing exciting upcoming performers like Georgia.”

AIM Independent Music Awards Shortlist
UK Independent Breakthrough (in association with YouTube Music)

● Black Midi
● Ezra Collective
● Gerry Cinnamon
● Jade Bird

International Breakthrough

● Afro B
● Jade Bird
● Maribou State
● Nilüfer Yanya

Best Independent Track (in association with Facebook)

● Dave, “Funky Friday (ft. Fredo)”
● FKA Twigs, “Cellophane”
● Fontaines D.C., “Boys In The Better Land”
● Georgia, “About Work The Dancefloor”
● JARV IS, “Must I Evolve”
● Jai Paul, “Do You Love Her Now”
● Holly Herndon, “Eternal”
● Little Simz, “Selfish (ft. Celo Sol)”
● Sharon Van Etten, “Seventeen”
● Four Tet, “Teenage Birdsong”

Best Independent Album (in association with Spotify)

● Better Oblivion Community Center, “Better Oblivion Community Center”
● Christine And The Queens, “Chris”
● Dave, “Psychodrama”
● Fontaines D.C., “Dogrel”
● Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes, “End of Suffering”
● Jade Bird, “Jade Bird”
● Jordan Rakei, “Origin”
● Little Simz, “GREY Area”
● Snapped Ankles, “Stunning Luxury”
● Swindle, “No More Normal”

Best [Difficult] Second Album

● Erland Cooper, “Sule Skerry”
● IDLES, “Joy as an Act of Resistance.”
● Julia Jacklin, “Crushing”
● Maribou State, “Kingdoms In Colour”
● SOAK, “Grim Town”

One To Watch (in association with BBC Music Introducing)

● Arlo Parks
● Barney Artist
● Georgia
● Larkins

Best Small Label

● Fuzz Club Records
● Killing Moon
● Local Action
● Scruff of the Neck
● Speedy Wunderground

Best Creative Packaging (in association with MCPS)

● Various Artists, Confessin’ The Blues compilation
● Murlo, “Dolos”
● IDLES, “Joy as an Act of Resistance”
● Various Artists, Sick Music 2019 compilation
● Keith Richards, “Talk Is Cheap”

Best Independent Video (in association with Vevo)

● Christine and the Queens, “5 Dollars”
● Hot Chip, “Hungry Child”
● John Grant, “He’s Got His Mother’s Hips”
● Caleb Steph, “Black Boy”
● FKA Twigs, “Cellophane”

Best Independent Label (in association with [PIAS])

● Brownswood Recordings
● Domino
● Nuclear Blast
● Partisan Records
● Rough Trade

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Artist

● AJ Tracey
● Cosmo Sheldrake
● Freya Ridings
● Guru Randhawa
● Jorja Smith


Representing all corners of the music industry, this year’s expert panel of judges includes Aaron Coultate (Editor-in-Chief — Resident Advisor), Carl Loben (Editor-in-Chief — DJ Mag), Danielle Perry (Presenter — Absolute Radio), Jamz Supernova, (BBC 1Xtra DJ), Jesse Bernard (Contributing Editor — Trench Magazine), Julie Adenuga (Presented — Beats1), Kate Hutchinson, (Freelance Journalist/Presenter), Laura Snapes (Deputy Music Editor — The Guardian), Lea Stonhill (Music Producer — Radio X), Matt Stocks (DJ/Presenter), Merlin Alderslade (Editor — Metal Hammer), Ryan Penty (Booking Agent — Coda Agency), Sean Adam (Social Media Producer — BBC) and Tom Billington (Editor — BBC Music Introducing).

Event Details

The ceremony will begin at 3pm, with the live show and after-party running from 8:15pm-2am.

Tickets to the ceremony, which include dinner, drinks receptions, and access to the exclusive live gig and after-party, can be purchased here:

Tickets to the live gig and after-party only are available here:

Twitter: @AIMAwards
Instagram: @aimawards


About AIM

AIM is the not-for-profit trade body exclusively representing the UK’s independent music sector, which makes up a quarter of the recorded music market. Now in its 20th year, AIM’s members range from the largest, most-respected record labels and associated music businesses in the world to self-releasing artists and the next generation of entrepreneurs in music. AIM promotes and supports this exciting and diverse sector globally and provides a range of services, commercial opportunities and practical help to members, enabling them to innovate, grow and break into new markets.

Source Name PR

July 24, 2019 6:00am ET by Name PR  


  Shortlink to this content:


Latest Press Releases