THE HOLYDRUG COUPLE: Chilean duo share 3rd single "Forever End" ahead of new album release

'Hyper Super Mega' out Sept 14th on Sacred Bones.

The Chilean duo share a dreamy new number ahead of new album release & UK tour


Stereo Sanctity


  • Share new single "Forever End"

  • New album 'Hyper Super Mega'
    out September 14th on Sacred Bones

  • UK live dates in November

Chilean psych duo The Holydrug Couple have just shared the third helping from their new album ‘Hyper Super Mega’, due for release on September 14th (digital) and September 28th (CD & vinyl) via Sacred Bones.

"Forever End" is an uplifting, dreamy number, with looping synths driven by hypnotic thumping bass lines and swirling ethereal vocals.

Speaking about the track Ives Sepúlveda Minho says: "The song takes inspiration from a few different things and the vocals sort of tell two sides of a story. The two voices come and go as if they were different characters. For me, I have two characters inside myself, you know, there’s the one when you're thinking and talking inside of your head and there's more than one of yourself who's repeating some things and adding something else... It’s a song about dreams, inside of your head and outside of your head."

Listen to “Forever End” below:

Following the release and surrounding tours of their second album, 2015’s ‘Moonlust’ (Sacred Bones), Ives Sepúlveda Minho and Manuel Parra found themselves back at home in Santiago, Chile, feeling directionless and listless. Amidst these feelings of post-tour weariness, the words “Hyper”, “Super” and “Mega” struck a chord – terms with origins so steeped in history and mythology, which have come to represent stark superlatives of consumerism. Hypercapitalism, hypermarket, hyperspace, hyperactive, hyperlink, megabyte, megabuck, megalomania, megastorm, megaplex, superhighway, superhero, supermodel, supersize… “It seemed that the scale of everything over-exaggerates human capacity and time” Ives notes.

So, the duo immersed themselves in these feelings and started to build the foundations of their new record. Amidst eleven tracks of perfectly-formed, heady psych-pop, ‘Hyper Super Mega’ speaks of immediacy, internet and social media, consumption, love and a comfortable despair at the state of the planet. It tells of a world over-connected through cell phones and information, whilst hinting at the place of occult language and imagery in an attempt to convene different and unknown places, or places that are open to interpretation.

Sonically, if ‘Hyper Super Mega’ feels, in places, like a classic pop record, that’s because Sepúlveda and Parra spent much of the recording process thinking, too, about the classic pop records of the ’60s and ’70s. Masterpieces by bands like The Beatles, The Beach Boys, and Fleetwood Mac were all reference points, not always explicitly in sound, but certainly in spirit. The duo approached the mythos of the “classic album” from their own inimitable perspective, hoping to make a record that felt authentically like The Holydrug Couple that might fit into the same canon. Overall, ‘Hyper Super Mega’ is a capsule history of The Holydrug Couple, incorporating a decade of experience recording, touring the world, and absorbing the sights and sounds of their native Chile.

‘Hyper Super Mega’ track list:

  1. Hyper Super Mega

  2. Waterfalls (YouTube)

  3. Forever End (YouTube)

  4. Ikebana Telephone Line

  5. Lucifer’s Coat

  6. I’ll Only Say This (YouTube | Bandcamp)

  7. Easy

  8. Chevalier Soda

  9. Hotel Cache

  10. Western Shade

  11. Mercury Lake

The Holydrug Couple tour dates:

17 Nov - NL - Amsterdam - Cinetol

18 Nov - UK - Brighton - Green Door Store

19 Nov - UK - Manchester - Now Wave

20 Nov - UK - London - The Lexington

21 Nov - FR - Paris - Point FMR

23 Nov - CH - Zurich - Exil

24 Nov - CH - Bulle - Ebullition

25 Nov - DE - Cologne - Bumann & Sohn

26 Nov - DE - Hamburg - Hafenklang

27 Nov - DE - Berlin - Urban Spree

28 Nov - DK - Copenhagen - Loppen

29 Nov - NO - Oslo - Revolver

30 Nov - SE - Stockholm - Melodymaker

01 Dec - SE - Malmo - Plan B

September 12, 2018 11:32am ET by Stereo Sanctity  

, , , , , ,

  Shortlink to this content:


Latest Press Releases