THE HOLYDRUG COUPLE album 'Hyper Super Mega' out TODAY on Sacred Bones!

New video for "Waterfalls". UK dates in November. Amidst 11 tracks of heady psych-pop, ‘Hyper Super Mega’ speaks of immediacy, social media, consumption, love & a comfortable despair at the state of the planet.


Stereo Sanctity

- Album ‘Hyper Super Mega’ out today!
Released on Sacred Bones
- New video for “Waterfalls” online now
- UK dates in November

“…Ives Sepúlveda and Manuel Parra revamp the group's sound, evolving from their more slow-paced 2015 album, ‘Moonlust’, to a more engaging and resonant tempo.” - NPR
“Melding fuzzy stoner wooze with krautrock drive, they take a leaf from The Flaming Lips’ book and lead us on an enjoyably sophisticated excursion to the far reaches of the pop continuum.” - Electronic Sound
“They manage to retain and evoke so much humanity—and perhaps that’s this record’s greatest strength.” - Paste
“…it finds The Holydrug Couple at ease, working on fresh ideas, looking towards new challenges.” - CLASH

Today Chilean psych duo The Holydrug Couple release their new album ‘Hyper Super Mega’ on Sacred Bones!

Amidst eleven tracks of perfectly-formed, heady psych-pop, ‘Hyper Super Mega’ speaks of immediacy, internet and social media, consumption, love and a comfortable despair at the state of the planet. It tells of a world over-connected through cell phones and information, whilst hinting at the place of occult language and imagery in an attempt to convene different and unknown places, or places that are open to interpretation.

'Hyper Super Mega’ streaming links: Spotify, Bandcamp and Apple Music.

To celebrate the release, the band have shared a new video for one of the album’s stand-out tracks, "Waterfalls". Directed by Ion Rakhmatulina, it’s a suitably intoxicated and cerebral affair.

Watch the video for “Waterfall”:

Following the release and surrounding tours of their second album, 2015’s ‘Moonlust’ (Sacred Bones), Ives Sepúlveda Minho and Manuel Parra found themselves back at home in Santiago, Chile, feeling directionless and listless. Amidst these feelings of post-tour weariness, the words “Hyper”, “Super” and “Mega” struck a chord – terms with origins so steeped in history and mythology, which have come to represent stark superlatives of consumerism. Hypercapitalism, hypermarket, hyperspace, hyperactive, hyperlink, megabyte, megabuck, megalomania, megastorm, megaplex, superhighway, superhero, supermodel, supersize… “It seemed that the scale of everything over-exaggerates human capacity and time” Ives notes. So, the duo immersed themselves in these feelings and started to build the foundations of their new record.

Overall, ‘Hyper Super Mega’ is a capsule history of The Holydrug Couple, incorporating a decade of experience recording, touring the world, and absorbing the sights and sounds of their native Chile.

‘Hyper Super Mega’ track list:

1. Hyper Super Mega

2. Waterfalls (Official video)

3. Forever End (YouTube)

4. Ikebana Telephone Line

5. Lucifer’s Coat

6. I’ll Only Say This (YouTube | Bandcamp)

7. Easy

8. Chevalier Soda

9. Hotel Cache

10. Western Shade

11. Mercury Lake

The Holydrug Couple tour dates:

17 Nov - NL - Amsterdam - Cinetol

18 Nov - UK - Brighton - Green Door Store
19 Nov - UK - Manchester - Now Wave
20 Nov - UK - London - The Lexington

21 Nov - FR - Paris - Point FMR

23 Nov - CH - Zurich - Exil 

24 Nov - CH - Bulle - Ebullition 

25 Nov - DE - Cologne - Bumann & Sohn

26 Nov - DE - Hamburg - Hafenklang

27 Nov - DE - Berlin - Urban Spree

28 Nov - DK - Copenhagen – Loppen

29 Nov - NO - Oslo - Revolver

30 Nov - SE - Stockholm - Melodymaker

01 Dec - SE - Malmo - Plan B

September 19, 2018 10:08am ET by Stereo Sanctity  

, , , , , , , , , ,

  Shortlink to this content:


Latest Press Releases