Walker Hayes 'You Broke Up With Me' video from the album 'boom.'

The video  for the country singer-songwriter’s debut single 'You Broke Up With Me' gives us insight into the long road to musical recognition with his album boom., his first Monument Records album. With an unusual sound and a history peppered with broken record deals, Hayes was ready to keep the day job. Grammy Award-winning producer Shane McAnally recognised his talent and took him away from the Costco produce freezer, where he worked the 4-10 a.m. shift. The video for 'You Broke Up With Me' shows his old life before his big break.

The song, like the album,  is unusual and not what you might expect from a Nashville country record. However the track perfectly fits in with the towns current experimentation with pushing the boundaries of country with rock, pop and rap. The song illustrates Walker’s turnaround in fortune and is a kind of a shrug to those people who didn’t stick by his side during the hard times. He says:

“A lot of people kind of showed up out of the woodwork after four or five years. Then they tried to make me feel guilty when I didn’t want to have coffee or something with them, and I’m like man, you guys broke up with me.”

And a song was born!

All about the album: 'boom.'
Alabama native (but long time Nashville resident) Walker Hayes releases boom., his long-awaited, full-length studio album, on Friday 8th December, via Monument/Sony Music. Hayes, who wrote or co-wrote every song on the 10-track album, many with ambiguous song titles, chose an album title that may well be his only instance where the title might give away the meaning. “'boom!' It’s my favourite word. It’s the first thing I say after I play a song from the album for anyone. So, it’s what we had to call the album. I’m just so excited to share another part of the story. BOOM!" boom. is available to pre-order now on Amazon and iTunes

boom. is produced by Grammy-Award winning producer Shane McAnally. “You Broke Up With Me,” the project’s debut single, has already accrued over 25 million streams. At US mainstream country radio, it’s just hit the Top 30 and is climbing. Listen to “You Broke Up With Me” here.

In anticipation of his new album, Hayes has also released “Beautiful,” (listen here) and “Halloween”, a duet with esteemed songwriter Nicolle Gaylon (listen here). Before the album is released, Hayes will release one more track, directly to the fans who can’t get enough of what People calls his “irresistibly quirky” songwriting.

One of Rolling Stone’s 2017 “Country Artists to Watch,” Hayes gained attention last year with 8Tracks Vol. 1 and Vol. 2. Sixteen self-written and recorded song catapulted the singer/songwriter from working night shifts at Costco to the top of the music charts - and onto tours with Dan + Shay and Bobby Bones’ Funny and Alone Comedy Tour. That momentum has earned him a highly coveted opening spot on Thomas Rhett’s Home Team Tour.

Entertainment Weekly noted Hayes’ unique hybrid’s “genre blending” and NPR’s World Café raved Hayes is “writing these really autobiographical songs and delivering them in this way that feels very intimate, very close range.” Rolling Stone concurred, “… he writes songs that are damn near impossible to classify, and that’s what makes them so interesting.”

boom. tracklisting"

  1. "Beautiful" (Walker Hayes)
  2. "Shut Up Kenny" (Walker Hayes, Pete Good, AJ Babcock)
  3. "You Broke Up With Me" (Walker Hayes, Thomas Archer, Kylie Sackley)
  4. "Halloween" feat. Nicolle Galyon (Walker Hayes, Nicolle Galyon)
  5. "Dollar Store" (Walker Hayes, Scott Stepakoff)
  6. "Beer In The Fridge" (Walker Hayes, Shane McAnally, Matt Jenkins, Scot Sherrod)
  7. "Beckett" (Walker Hayes, Shane McAnally)
  8. "Mind Candy" (Walker Hayes, Thomas Archer)
  9. "Prescriptions" (Walker Hayes, Matt McGinn)
  10. "Craig" (Walker Hayes)

Watch the video to 'You Broke Up With Me' below:

November 21, 2017 5:50am ET by Digital Rebel PR   Comments (0)

, , , , , , , , ,

  Shortlink to this content: http://bit.ly/2jJPRuK


Latest Press Releases